Avocado and Tuna Tapas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were pretty wonderful - rather filling, and easy to make (I admit I thought I could polish off two halves stuffed with tuna, but could only go through one half at a time!). I doubled the recipe - used one whole pepper, and 5-6 green onions. A great, healthy midday snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was amazing and satisfying! My husband thought it was a tad too creamy for him but he doesn't like mayo! I didn't have green onion on hand so I used finely diced red onion. I also used a few drops of greek style vinaigrette instead of balsamic vinegar. This has become my favorite way to use tuna and avocado together, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
YUMMY!! I'm vegan, so I used this wonderful product called VegeTuna. I also diced my avocados and then scooped them out and mixed them in (gently) with the "tuna" mixture. I caved to peer pressure and added a 1/2 tsp. of lemon juice and went rogue by adding a few dashes of (vegan) Bacon Salt. It turned out goooood! Awesome summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I made a whole tapas lunch today and this was a good starter. Fresh, simple, nice to look at and above all, tasty. I forgot to add the pepper, which I think would have added a bit of necessary zest, but that's my fault and not the recipes. A great appetizer idea, as serving in the shells makes it easy to hold and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this for a Spanish Tapas party, so I had to change the recipe slightly: 2 tortilla shells, butter both sides and heat on griddle to make crispy. I then basically doubled the recipe (except I only needed 3 avocados and 3/4 red bell pepper and 4-5 green onions) Cut the tortilla shells into eighths, place an avocado slice on the tortilla shell, top with a spoonful of the tuna mixture (I used a cookie scoop), and I placed a fresh cilantro leaf on top. This made smaller portions for many hands at the party. It was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I eat my tuna straight out of the can and this was SO much better I think I'll eat it this way from now on. The added flavor of the avocado made this almost a comfort food for me! Unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was really good - I didn't have bellpepper so I skipped that and I diced the avocado and mixed it all together. It was a great lunch - I halved the recipe and ate that for lunch which wasn't really two portions, it seemed just right for lunch for one. I also added a sprinkle of Old Bay, as others suggested, and that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Awesome recipe! I make this all the time for lunch now! I usually add other crunchy veggies like celery or green peppers too :) Tastes good with Old Bay (a seafood seasoning) too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Like the previous review I was a little nervous to try this. I was looking for a healthier tuna salad and this really came through! It was quick and easy to prepare and I look forward to having it again! Thank you for the reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was very excellent. I followed some suggestions to put in lemon juice, which was very nice. I also cut the avocado into 8ths and put it on some cut up corn tortilla for easier eating so that more people at a party could enjoy. Next time will toast the tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States