Avocado and Tuna Tapas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was a huge hit at my house! I subbed black olives for red bell pepper and had enough tuna salad for 3 avocados. I cubed the avocado and mixed it with the tuna for the kiddos, hubs ate his with a spoon, and I peeled mine and ate it without any utensils. The balsamic complimented the avocado well. This was the perfect lunch for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Awesome! Made this as written and it turned out perfect. The balsamic vinegar puts it over the top. Definitely a keeper. Thank you La Cocina de Redondita. *Update* As I was perusing my favorites folder in my recipe box I came across this recipe again. Since I have made it several times with chicken and tuna I thought, why not sausage. I eliminated the pepper and garlic salt since I was using Johnsonville mild Italian sausage. Made everything else as is and placed the warm sausage mixture over the avocado. Delightful, sausage and avocados are a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I made this as a full lunch recipe instead of tapas and made a small swap. Instead of filling the avocado with it, I smashed half an avocado with the tuna mixture and then filled two halves of red pepper with it instead of chopping those up. Delicious! 1 can of tuna is 1 serving for me as a meal that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I tried this the moment I saw it. I don't like red peppers and didn't have green onions but it turned out amazing with out them. I also added fresh parsley and more vinegar. I love vinegar and the avocado balenced it really well. Overall a very good recipe. Next time I'll add chopped celery and white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
A nice combination of flavors and quick easy healthy lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Different from classic. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Very easy, quick and tasty. As we were having this for dinner, I scooped out all the avocado, mixed half in with the tuna which I put over mixed greens and then sprinkled the other half of the diced avocado over that along with some halved cherry tomatoes with a few extra dashes of balsamic. I see this becoming part of the summertime rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is very very good, but I choped up the avocados, and topped the tuna mix with them... all on top of a bed of baby spinach as another reviewer suggested. No additional dressing needed, in fact I think any more seasoning would overwhelm the simple flavor of the avocados that really makes this dish so perfect. I'm sure its god the way its written, but I think the chopped up way is a lot easier to deal with at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Thanks for the idea! I had everything but red pepper, and I did end up putting everything over some mixed greens since I wanted to use them up. It was quite tasty, I never would have thought to put all of these ingredients together. I think the red pepper would have been more important if I hadn't had the meal over mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Even my kids that don't like tuna liked it this way. Something about the avocado makes tuna way better than it is on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tapas

See how to make two types of traditional tapas.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States