Avocado and Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
So simple and yummy. For those who are turned off by the "brownish" color, try white balsamic vinegar. I agree that 8oz is too much dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This salad is good, but the dressing does not make the salad look appetizing. I did use a lot less dressing then the recipe states but the veggies are sitting in a pool of brown liquid. My kids (who are young) wouldn't try it, and my husband said he liked other tomato salads that we have tried better because of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I have recently made a similar salad. It used avocado, tomato, a sweet onion, cilantro and green pepper with lime juice as dressing. I think it has more punch and flavor than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenarta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poynette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
When I was on my honeymoon in France, we had an avocado and tomato appetizer that I absolutely loved. I was trying to find a recipe for something similar since I couldn't remember exactly what was in it and came across this one. This recipe was good but not quite as good as the appetizer I loved so much in France.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
It's so easy to just make your own balsamic dressing....1/3 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 1 Tbs. dijon mustard, pinch of black pepper, and freshly chopped basil. Ta Da! I added green peppers picked fresh from my sister's garden to the platter of sliced tomato, avocado, and red onion. This was a wonderful side dish to a summer-time grilled Orange & Tequila Chicken entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I love avocados and tomatoes, so this recipe of course was a hit with me and my family. We ate it with salmon, absolutely perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
So good!! Simple and easy and fast! I added a green onion, but that was the only change.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I substituted quartered cherry tomatoes and a shallot in this recipe. Very nice flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
good but balsamic vinegar is STILL overpowering even though I reduced the balsamic vinegar to 1/2 a cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Simple but great! I just used balsamic vinegar and olive oil, and also added a little cilantro since I was serving it with Mexican food. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States