Avocado and Black Eyed Pea Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I too had never heard of shoepeg corn, but now I wouldn't want anything else, unless of course I was strapped, it'd still be good with other types of corn. You could really substitute any bean or veggie, the red wine vinegar dressing is where it's at! This will be my third new years making this, not to mention other time throughout! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Great summer recipe. It was a wee bit bland for my taste, so I doubled the cumin and garlic and added some chipotle for a little heat. Next time I think I'll use lime juice instead of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Great salsa! I was out of romas so I added a can of dice tomatoes and green chilies and am I glad I did. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
We made it for the Super Bowl Party and everybody loved it. We too, thought it needed a bit more spice so we added a minced Chipotle Pepper that we happened to have for the Chipotle Mayo we were making for Salmon Sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I'm not a big fan of cilantro so used only a small amount. I coked my own black eyed peas. This recipe is really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipe. First dish to be devoured at our NYE party. Shoepeg corn is just a smaller kernel, white sweet corn. My grocer doesn't stock shoepeg, so I chose Del Monte Gold & White Super Sweet canned corn as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
delicious! next time I'm going to decrease the cilantro a bit, but that is just a personal preference, recipe turned out great as is. Makes a a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is amazing. I will use this again. It was tasty before I put the liquid dressing on it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is delicious....the family licked the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
omitted olive oil - added 1 serano pepper - used rotel diced tomotoes with lime and cilantro - used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar plus used corn blue chips and black beans instead of black eyed peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States