Avocado and Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I can't eat dairy or wine so I used 1 can of coconut milk instead of the cream, and reduced the chicken broth by 1 cup (used 3 cups, could have used less). No wine. I used three avocados, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper. I didn't use the lime just because I didn't have any. It was creamy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Eldridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I added 1 roasted poblano chili, and a clove of garlic, and a good fist full of cilantro- (blended with the onion and celery) yum. Smooth and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This soup was perfect for a hot summer day. I made some changes based on the comments, I added a shallot to the onion and a small handful of cilantro leaves before I blended the soup. In the final step I added a TBSP of tequila instead of white wine. To address the watery complaint, I used half as much chicken stock and added a tbsp of greek yogurt. It came out very creamy and not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bowling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I was anticipating this soup to be so good considering all the amazing reviews it has. This soup had far too much of a wine taste. Underneath, it seems like it had a world of different flavors, especially when you would end up with the tiny bits of bacon. Perhaps I'll try again in the future and use less wine, but it wouldn't be any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icesis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This recipe was fantastic!! My family loved it and even one of my husband's coworkers asked for the recipe, lol. I did not add cooking wine, and sprinkled in some red pepper flakes for heat, I topped it with fresh diced tomatoes, bacon and a little fresh grated sharp cheddar and served it with warm homemade mini tortillas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very Very good. I served it with a toasted turkey and cheese sandwhich, like a deconstructed club, and it was perfect. I may add a hint of garlic next time and a dash of cayane (But that is my taste--I love a hint of spice!) but the flavor is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was amazing. I did not use the celery in mine because I'm not a fan of it, but the rest was incredible. The savory flavor of the chicken stock blends the flavors of the other ingredients very well. I also love the contrast of the crunch of the bacon with the smooth, creaminess of the avocado. It would go very well with sourdough bread that is very crusty. It was so quick and easy for such a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is a nice summer soup, I made a few changes. The first is I did not use wine at all, also instead of celery I used cilantro. Finally, after reading other reviews I was afraid of the lime juice so I cut it in half and used lime as a garnish. Also I added 1t. of crushed red pepper. This soup is good but make it your own with a few changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I only gave it four stars because I thought it could use some improvements. Over all it is a great basic recie that you can tailor to your tastes. First I cooked the onions and celery in garlic, leftover bacon fat and cumin. Once everything was cooked, I added cilantro to the blending mixture. I left the mixture somewhat chunky and only used half of the chicken broth so the soup would be thicker. I think next time I will add sour cream on top with the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States