Autumn Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I served this to 15 people and everybody loved it. I used butternut squash ( couldn't find buttercup). I used Jonagold apples and reduced the white sugar to 1/8 cup. I also reduced the brown sugar in the topping to 1/3 cup. I cooked and mashed the squash the day before so it was very quick to prepare. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absolutely awesome! The whole family loved it! Squash is hard to peel (this was my 1st time) & the only way I found to make it any easier was to have my husband cut it into small pieces and then I peeled them. I put it together the night before, but didn't cook it until about an hour before the event. It came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was wonderful as it stands. The only thing different I did was use Butternut squash instead of Buttercup only because it was what I had bought. I served it for Thanksgiving Dinner and everyone had two helpings, some had three!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I just ran across the recipe again and wanted to review it :) I made it last year for Thanksgiving, it was so good, everyone loved it! I added dried cranberries in with my apple mixture, only because I like the tart taste. Very good, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is wonderful! Of the 8 dishes served to 12 people, this won the prize! I used butternut squash and followed the recipe with no changes. Unbelievably good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally in NH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wonderful!! Even my kids ate it. Next time I will dice the apples instead of slicing. And will mix in. Some spoonfuls did not get down to the apples on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yummy! I made this for Thanksgiving and had a request to make it for Christmas too. Liked by everybody. At Thanksgiving, I made it with buttercup squash (looks like a smal green & orange pumpkin), but it was VERY difficult to peel even after microwaving for 5min. Probably the easiest way to use the buttercup squash would be to cut in half, scoop out seeds, bake for about an hour at 350 degrees, then scoop out the squash and then prepare as the recipe says. For Christmas, I used butternut squash and it was much easier to prepare and just as delicious. I used a mix of apples including macintosh and cut them up into small wedges (not sliced or diced). For topping I used Special K with cinnamon and pecans for the cereal. Lastly, I put everything in the crockpot instead of baking and kept on low until ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
good! but...it needs more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is a great side dish. The only thing I will do next time is to cut the apple pieces into smaller pieces. I sliced the apples pretty thin, but the slices were just big enough to make serving awkward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is so easy and delicious! I adjusted the amount of topping to fit the pan I used for baking. Also, I accidentally used the wrong type of squash (butternut). But wow it was tasty. Will definitely make for a holiday dish or possibly to use up squash in the future. Also, if I had more squash I would have layered it - some apples, squash, topping, apples, squash, topping. Mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States