Autumn Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used butternut squash, cubed apples and squash and simmered together in a deep skillet until tender, then drained and added butter and used brown sugar instead of white as I was out of white sugar, and brought back to a boil. I did not purée squash due to limited time. I then placed mixture in baking dish. For topping, I didn't have corn flakes on hand so I used Post Great Grains with raisins, dates and pecans and blended with softened butter and brown sugar. Wonderful! I will make this at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very good! My family was a bit uncertain when they heard it had squash in it, but the dish was almost empty when dinner was over! The only things I did different was I used honey nut cherrios in place of cornflakes because that was what I had, and I didn't use the pecans because I didn't have any, but next time I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this for a church potluck, but didn't do the apples, because it was a last minute decision and I didn't have any. Everyone loved it, and I got lots of requests for the recipe. I'd make it again for sure. maybe next time I'll actually think ahead and buy apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
LOVED this recipe! Served it at our Canadian Thanksgiving celebration and it was a hit. I followed the recipe to a T, including the boiled squash. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome, could be used in place of sweet pots. I did add about 1/8 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Had buttercup squash in my CSA box and since I'd been inundated with squash, I wanted to try something other than baking/roasting or making a quick bread. Took this to Thanksgiving dinner and boy, did it go fast! Everyone LOVED it. I ended up using buttercup and acorn squash in this and I diced the apples rather than sliced, but otherwise followed the recipe. So good! Passed the recipe on to everyone there! Thank you so much for sharing. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I made this last night as a "rehearsal" for Thanksgiving. My husband and I loved it!! I did add about two tablespoons more of the brown sugar and I cubed the apples. It was easy to make and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Made this over the Christmas holidays and it was definitely a favorite among squash lovers. Next time, though I'd cut the apples into smaller pieces. The topping was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Took this for thanksgiving and most of it was still left afterward. Make sure that you completely puree the squash, I used my food processor and it was still not pureed enough. It had a very odd texture that was hard to get over. I would also cut the squash amount down to 2lbs as the flavor was almost overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yummy! I made this for Thanksgiving and had a request to make it for Christmas too. Liked by everybody. At Thanksgiving, I made it with buttercup squash (looks like a smal green & orange pumpkin), but it was VERY difficult to peel even after microwaving for 5min. Probably the easiest way to use the buttercup squash would be to cut in half, scoop out seeds, bake for about an hour at 350 degrees, then scoop out the squash and then prepare as the recipe says. For Christmas, I used butternut squash and it was much easier to prepare and just as delicious. I used a mix of apples including macintosh and cut them up into small wedges (not sliced or diced). For topping I used Special K with cinnamon and pecans for the cereal. Lastly, I put everything in the crockpot instead of baking and kept on low until ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States