Autumn Spiced Butternut Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Delicious! I did decrease the sugar & water slightly. (Adding water to bread seemed odd.) This was really yummy! It tastes even better the second day which rarely happens with bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Perfect consistency. I used 1/4 cup of butter instead of shortening for a single loaf. Another great recipe from allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My husband and his boss & co-workers say this is the BEST bread ever. I added some nutmeg & cinnamon w/ the ground cloves. WOW!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I think this is a very good base for the recipe.. but cannot give it 5 stars as I would make changes. First: for information, I made 6 mini loaf pans, with about 1 1/2 cups batter in each, 350 degrees for 35 minutes ( convection) and they came out well. I do not have shortening so followed some of the other reviewers and used 1/3 cup applesauce and 1/3 cup canola oil. Doubled the cinnamon. Otherwise I followed the directions as written. I think the extra cinnamon is needed, as these were mild even with the change. I might even add some nutmeg next time. But I also think they were a bit too sweet, so I would try 2 cups of sugar next time. And also I will probably add some nuts, perhaps pecans. Also, I had 4 small squash, and they were just over 2 cups pureed... so perhaps 2 large ones?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly with exception of leaving out cloves and adding a tsp. of ground Nutmeg. It was moist and tender with a great taste and pleasing "spicy" smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooninAries Awakening

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Love this recipe! Great way to use butternut from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedBeaumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe -- easy to make, and quite delicious! I substituted 2/3 cup shortening for 1 cup butter, and added twice as much cinnamon. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
made as mini and regular muffins, they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Iused butter instead of shortening, and I replaced 1 cup of sugar with 3/4 cup of raw honey, adding about 1/4 tsp. of baking soda to complement that. I used 1/3-1/2 as much cloves, as that's what I had, and added a couple of dashes of nutmeg. Next time I'll probably spice it up more, as the flavor was quite mild, but still it's really yummy. I don't doubt it would have been just as good without any changes. Maybe it was just luck, but this bread came out as well as any quick bread I've ever made: really moist, but totally cooked through even in the center and not too tough or crusty on the edges -- not too easy a feat for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristieg
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Even my kids loved these! I replaced the shortening with 1/3 c. applesauce and 1/3 c. canola oil. This recipe made 24 nice muffins so I did the first dozen without nuts and the second with 1/3 c. chopped walnuts. They took 30 minutes in the oven at the same temperature. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristieg
Home Town: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States