Autumn Spice Ham Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Easy to fix; used ham steaks from Costco, and hubby's reaction was "fantastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was just wonderful and perfect for fall! I just sauteed up the apples along with some sliced onions, cut my ham steak into strips and added it to the pan, and then topped it with regular pancake syrup and pumpkin pie spice, and simmered it for a little bit. Didn't bother browning up the ham steaks cause it tends to dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a good recipe. I used apple fruit/cinnamon fruit cups instead of whole apples. It still tasted good and took less time since the apples were already diced and cooked. Overall, very good. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Outstanding, my husband and I really enjoyed this one. Followed recipe exactly and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I did as others mentioned - fried ham steak in butter, removed to a separate dish then made the apples. I did add the little horseradish to help cut the sweetness and I am glad I did. We couldn't taste the horseradish but I know it helped make it not so sweet. I made extra of the apples and will be able to use them over ice cream, pancakes, or whatever. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
EXCELLENTE'!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made the recipe exactly, and the ham steak was AMAZING. It was very tender and flavorful and I wouldn't change a thing. The apples give the steak a great flavor profile and the tartness of the green apples cut the maple syrup's sweetness. I didn't particularly like the apples themselves, but I'm not a fan of meat & fruit together anyway. The rest of my family loved the apples' flavor, so definitely serve them with the steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith Zombori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Not enough flavor in this for me. However, a nice recipe for a quick ham entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I had to make a few slight changes for this to be fantabulous, so I gave the recipe 4 stars as is. First, because it doesn't say, be sure to use unsalted butter, the ham adds more than plenty of salt to the recipe, no extra is required. I reduced the butter by 1/3 (ie 1 TBS) and sauteed the apples in it, then added the syrup and apples, which I cooked until they were almost done. I added the ham steaks and cooked them until they were heated through, which was enough time to allow the apples to finish cooking to perfection. As others stated, double the apples; they are so delicious on their own or in every bite. Under no circumstances use pancake syrup...yuck. Use REAL maple syrup; it was more than sweet enough and didn't taste artificial. Next time, I plan on reducing the amount of syrup by 1/4 or more; as it was a bit too sweet for my tastes. I made extra for leftovers so that I could fill buckwheat crepes with the ham and Swiss cheese. I heated until ham was warm and cheese was melted. I warmed the apples and spooned them and juice over the top. It makes for the absolutely most delicious lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States