Autumn Spice Ham Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was a welcome dinner on a cool autumn night. It's better if you do not overcook the apples. We used sugar free maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was good- I will make it again but not a regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
We loved it! It is actually similar to what I do already to ham steaks. But the difference is I never thought to add apples. After reading the reviews I decided to cook the ham, then remove them from the skillet and add the apples to cook seperately. Then i returned the ham to the skillet. Perfect! I was afraid the apples would not soften enough. I used granny smith apples. Good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We never really liked ham much until this recipe. Since we are cooking for only two, the syrup didn't cover the ham and couldn't really reach the apples to flavor them. The first time we made it, after a few minutes we pulled the ham out and placed the ham on top of the apples. Even then, the apples didn't pick up much flavor. So the second time we heated the ham, then set it in a warm oven. We cooked the apples directly in the syrup, butter and cinnamon over medium heat with a lid covering them. When the apples were soft, we put the ham on top of them, covered it and cooked a bit more. We both were loved the variation. Oh, and we added extra cinnamon because my husband is a cinnamon fanatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very good and easy. Even my picky 2 yr. old liked it. I used only green apples and real maple syrup because that is what I had on hand. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was very good. My children loved the apples. I'm rating it a four star recipe only because I have another glaze recipe that I use that I like better. Next time I will combine the two recipes and it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Yummy fall recipe! Added apples in with ham, right in the beginning, After frying the ham, I removed it to a warm plate, added syrup, cinnamon & allspice & simmered till apples were soft, added ham back in, placed apples on top to warm up ham and then transferred to dish & poured sauce on top. Served with brown rice & 1/2 cornbread muffin heated with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Soooo good! My family loved this. I followed the recipe except used golden delicious apples because it was what we had in the house. Overall, I found the recipe quite sweet, but that could have been the apples? I think next time I'll try granny smith for a little tartness. Served with sweet potatoes, maybe next time I'll try squash for something different! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very tasty recipe!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Really yummy. I added some onion too. They gave it another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States