Autumn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This salad was delicious and a big hit with my friends. We especially liked the pear/creme cheese part. As one friend said, "Pears with creme cheese? How can you go wrong!" However, I agree with the other reviewer who said that there may be too much going on so next time I think I will make just one part or the other - just the salad w/ carrot mixture, or just the pears with filling. Most of my guests took it apart and ate it this way anyways. I used craisins instead of raisins, and would recommend trying it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I so wanted to like this recipe; the presentation was beautiful and I liked the pears and cream cheese filling. However, the French dressing did not compliment the other flavors. I'll try it again with Litehouse sesame ginger or a poppy seed dressing. The Litehouse dressing is excellent, if you haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VIVNIDHI
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very different! I did not have all the ingredients and so had to tweak the recipe a little but I bet it would taste very good if I had all the ingredients. Also, took me 4-5 bites to really start liking the taste. Otherwise, I initially thought cream cheese with crunchy pears was strange when I took the first bite. Could be a little on the sweeter side so, next time I will watch the amount of french dressing.I used fresh and they were delicious. I also used dried prunes instead of dates as I did not have any. Its a good alternative though. Thanks for a pretty salad recipe. I think I will certainly make it again and also for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! The only thing I changed was using walnuts as opposed to pecans because that's what I had in stock. I used red leaf lettuce and a little bit of fresh spinach; all around it had a lovely presentation. (I served this with Creamy Curried Pumpkin Soup and Irish Soda Bread, also found on this site.) I was intrigued by the idea of the pear and cream cheese mixture as the predominant dressing agent in the salad: it was delectable. The hubby also liked it, although my roommate (who's favorite food is Kraft macaroni and cheese) thought there was "too much going on with it." To me that was final proof that although the salad was simple to make, it comes off as beaufifully complex and a delight to multiple senses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
A Pretty, great tasting salad. I will be saving this recipe to make again. We thought it would be good with Bbq chicken or steak. The name brand 15oz can of pears we used had 4 pear halves and 2 sm. pieces. For 6 servings you may want to buy a larger can of pears. Thanks for the great recipe Allana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Prepared this for a dinner party last night and it received RAVE reviews. I used red leaf lettuce for GREAT eye appeal and I used 1/2 of the amount of French Dressing called for and substituted real mayonnaise for the other half ... helps to cut the "tangy" taste of the French dressing. Thanks, Allana for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
THIS WAS A TOTAL HIT at my lunch bunch group. Tasty, and easy to make, I willmake it a lot more often, especially for company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEKAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This was very good. I ommited the dates though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is a very smooth and elegant palate pleaser, indeed. I made two slight changes: chopped walnuts and golden raisins. The date and cream cheese mixture with the pear halves is a combination that will leave your taste buds screaming for more. Definitely a five star recipe that I'll be making time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States