Autumn Pumpkin Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I don't know what to think about this cake. I made it because I like that it fit in a 9x9 pan and I didn't have to scale it down. The cake part had a nice and perfectly seasoned flavor. The only change I made was using 1/4 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice for the allspice. The texture of the cake was a just a tad rubbery and both crispy on the bottom and sides. the center pieces were good. The sugar topping was kind of odd to me though. It melts into the cake and is gooey, really sweet, and the color somewhat of chocolate. I think I would have preferred this with a crumb topping for appearance sake and it would probably be a little less sweet too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Newenglandgranny
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious, easy to make and different than other coffee cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake looks pretty but is very dry. There is no oil in the recipe, so I added some but was still dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this with two changes. I used white sugar in the batter and I used 2/3's cup of whole wheat flour in place of part of the white flour. The rest I did exactly as written. I baked it in a clear glass pan and it was interesting to see what the brown sugar topping would do while baking. It did bubble up and coat the sides of the cake. The cake came out well. Tastes great warm, not as great when cool. Although it is ok, I would probably not make it again, it isn't particularly special.The cake part is heavy, and the brown sugar part is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This turned out really well - served it to friends who loved it too. One change I made was I used half white flour and half whole wheat flour when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This recipe was weird. Made me think of bread pudding instead of cake. Was disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I don't know if I did anything wrong. I followed the recipe, except baked it in a 9" round spring form pan (could that have made a difference?) The cake turned out very dense and rubbery, almost tastes uncooked. I actually made 2 for my son to take to school. He said no thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Made this last night. Everyone loved it and can't wait to have it again. I used a rectangular pan instead of square only because that is what I had available- ill continue to use it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States