Autumn Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
How delicious was this? Outstanding! I prepared exactly as written, but added some sliced granny smith apple and dried cranberries to the vegetable mix, and decreased the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Roasted for about 1 hr 10 minutes, and let the meat rest before carving. Tender, flavorful, sweet, it was perfect. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe, SJRJA, it's going to be a classic in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Oh me, Oh my this is sssssooooo good. I did change a few things. I added 2 pealed apples to the squash mixture(only because I had tons of apples on hand) and I used fresh garlic, homemade apple sauce with cinnamon, so I didn't add any extra cinnamon. When I deglazed the pan with the wine, I added the onions, garlic, and extra two apples and let everything cook down some and carmelized the onions lightly. And just before I put it in the oven, I added a couple of small handfuls of dried crandberries for some tartness...........it turned out simply wonderful. We gave this recipe five stars. My husband loved it and I did as well. With autumn being my favorite season, I will make this dish often during my favorite time of the year. I served it with mashed patatoes, and German coleslaw from this site. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenbush Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenbush, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was great! I'd had a boneless shoulder roast in my freezer for a couple months because there are many times that I do not like pork as it gets SO dry and I was reluctant to make it! Anyways, I made it today and it was SO moist and delicious I couldn't believe it. The juices from the roast and applesauce and cooking out of the squash and onion really soaked into the meat and made it so moist and flavorful! I followed the recipe except that I put it in the oven before church and needed way longer than 1 hr., so I put it in at 250*F and vented the foil to prevent boil over- was gone about 4 hours. Pretty much fork-tender- amazingness. :) Served the veggies and broth over white rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_learned_to_cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
An excellent recipe as written. The flavors of the apple sauce, sugar and soy meld really well as it cooks and no 1 flavor stands out too much. I consider the original recipe a fairly "safe" dish that almost everyone, kids included, would probably like. I also made this using the Cranberry Chutney I recipe from this site in place of the apple sauce and I loved that even more. That recipe has cranberries, apple chunks and lots of "pie spices". The spices and cranberries kicked up the flavor and complemented both the pork and the veggies. I found adding the brown sugar unnecessary. Of course I added way more onions and squash each time and the leftovers were super for lunch the next day. So good, in fact, that I didn't even need the pork to go along with it and just added some leftover boiled potato to make my meal. All the juices had cooked into the veg and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Thumbs up on this one! I mixed the garlic powder and about tsp each s & p and rubbed into the loin before browning. Added water instead of wine. Put into 13x9 as I don't have oven safe pan and baked to temp. Still little pink in the middle which is fine with us. Great taste on the sauce. Squash was nicely flavored, still couldn't get hubby to eat that though. Not to sweet nor tart. Very nice flavor on the pork when drizzled with a little of the jus. I like apples with pork, may add some of those part way through next time. Thanks for the recipe SJRJA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
AMAZING!!! I used a boneless pork shoulder since that's what I had on hand. Along with the butternut squash and onion I also threw in some granny smith apples and dried thyme and cooked it all together in my slow cooker on low for 8 hours. I would recommend cutting down the amount of brown sugar. The roast I cooked was a pound heavier than the one this recipe calls for and 1/3 cup of sugar was more than enough. Perhaps add more if your applesauce is unsweetened, though. Either way, this recipe was fantastic and totally hit the spot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was great, I used a roast with a fair bit of marbling in it as that is my preference. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Wow, this was really good! I used leftover cranberry sauce instead of the applesauce and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I loved this dish! After 35 years of cooking for my family, my purpose in using this site is to branch out from my "usual". This is one of those dishes! Simple, flavorful ~ the cinnamon & applesauce makes the butternut squash "sing"! For those reviewers who found it too sweet, I agree that a little dried Thyme might balance that out a bit, and help bring out the flavor of the pork loin a little more. But I still give it 5 stars as-is! It's going in my "favorites" folder to be repeated soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Love this! Did it in the crockpot and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickletsRfun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States