Autumn Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
We liked it; didn't love it - but we are NOT Squash eaters and hoped that by dressing up the squash that we would like it more. I rated this 4 stars because, I must say, the meat had an awesome flavour, so you cannot go wrong with this marinade/coating. I did as another reviewer suggested and added potatoes to the mix. Next time, I might skip the squash and do carrots and potatoes. I did only use 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and truly, it was sweet enough, and that's after using unsweetened apple sauce. Also added dried thyme and some leftover cranberry sauce (so that could account for some of the sweetness), but the flavour of the sauce was super yummy. Obviously a very versatile and forgiving sauce; what's better than a one pot meal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this tonight and my family loved it! Super quick and easy!!! I think you need to make sure you use good grainy dijon mustard (not the creamy one) and this is awesome! I also just added some yukon potatos cut up in chunks as I was going to make mashed potatos but then just added them instead. My husband said this was "resturant quality" which I was very happy with! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent! Not a frequent reviewer but everyone should know how yummy this was!! I made it for my inlaws and it was all eaten up. Only changes I made was to add 2 chopped apples and after browning I put it all in my slow cooker with the roast right on top, covered the roast in the sauce. 3hrs on high for a 2lb roast. Everyone raved. Served it was creamy risotto. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Super simply to make. Exceptional, savory flavor...a real favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Cliff, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is pretty good and even my picky hubby liked it. I did not have any butternut squash on hand, so I used plain 'ole potatoes and it still turned out to be a great easy dinner. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
THIS IS A KEEPER!!!!! My boyfriend will not stop raving about this (and I cook ALOT)!! I did change a few things for convenience sake though. I changed the veggies the roast sits on to whole cloves of garlic (about 5), carrots and potatoes. let me tell you: the carrots need to be added to this recipe. they are PERFECT in the sauce! I'm sure many veggie combos would go great in this, so just use what is on hand! Again: you will NOT regret using this recipe! easy, and makes you look like a super-star!!!! I love the sauce so much I might just use it on veggies as a holiday side-dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Yum! I used chk broth instead of wine and sweet potatoes instead of squash b/c that's what I had on hand. I also added some sliced apples. Husband raved and wanted to be sure I was keeping this recipe somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Honestly, this is the first time that I've ever cooked a pork loin that turned out right! Delicious. Make sure you double the squash to four cups. You will definitely eat it all. Unlike others, we didn't find it too sweet. But I did add 1/2 teaspoon of rosemary per someone else's recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Great moist recipe. Didn't have applesauce in house, so used Mac apple....didn't peel, just cored and cut into 8 pieces and threw it in....was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Wow this was good. I just happened to have all the ingredients on hand and it got rave reviews. This is the recipe that will come to mind next time I have a pork roast to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States