Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good flavor. I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour, used dried cherries instead of cranberries, dates in place of figs and pecans. My husband loved the muffins and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I have made this three times and we love it. I do make some changes, to cut out the fat and add more fibre. I use 2 cups whole wheat, 1 cup white, 1/4 cup ground flax. I also use 1/4 cup melted butter and 1 cup of canned pumpkin-which really adds to the autumn flavour. I go a little heavy on the spices too, and I once left out the hazlenuts by accident and found that this recipe really needs the hazlenuts-they add a lot of flavour. I will continue to make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
These were awesome muffins. I loved everything about them. The spice flavor was perfect. I used freshly grated nutmeg which makes such a difference. I also followed the advice of another reviewer and grated the apple. I like that much better than apple chunks. Also, I didn't have any figs so I substituted raisins which, I thought, went quite well. My whole family loved these, so I'll definitely be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Too boring with all that flour. Perhaps add some wheat germ or cornmeal for a more interesting taste. Also, it would be better to grate the apples so that they help keep the muffins moist all over, rather than just have chunks in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Really, really tasty muffins! I followed the recipe as written except substituted applesauce for the butter. I really enjoyed the sweet tart flavor on Thanksgiving morning. Got good reviews from kids, hubby, and my mother too. I got 24 muffins out of a single recipe, so it made plenty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe for my specific needs. Instead of 3 cups all purpose flour, I used 2 c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. all purpose flour; I substituted honey for the white sugar and melted Smart Balance spread for the butter; I used fat free milk, as well, and left the apple unpeeled. Both my husband and I thought they were wonderful and I'll definitely make them again as they're fiber rich and full of flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
muffin tasted very good. i used walnuts instead of hazelnuts because i didn't have any at home. i wish i had read the reviews before i made them because i would've substituted the butter for applesauce (i thought the butter content was quite high). i also used dried sweetened cranberries instead of fresh. i omitted the figs simply because i didn't have those either. not sure if i'll make them again, husband and kids weren't raving. also, i find 300 cal for one muffin a bit high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is definitely my most favorite recipe for muffins!My whole family loves their fruity taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I loved this recipe! I typically don't like nuts in my food but I went ahead and added pecans (didn't have hazelnuts) - very delicious! I also used a sugar substitute and I didn't pack my brown sugar. Next time I want to try them with applesauce in place of the butter to lower the fat. Thanks Jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I left out the nuts, (preference) they were awesome. Shared them with my friends and they agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States