Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
LOVE this recipe - I make it every Sunday and they carry us through the week for breakfasts. Instead of figs I use raisins. Instead of hazelnuts I use walnuts. Everyone loves them, even the kids. I occasionally substitute wheat flour in - 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup white and it's still amazing. Make sure to use fresh cranberries - they are what makes this muffin yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Great muffins. Easy to interchange/add other fruits/nuts. I sometimes add cut fresh cranberries and orange pieces/zest in leiu of blueberries for cran/orange muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Some of the best muffins I've ever made. I didn't have nuts, so I left them out, but they would be good. I used about a cup of dried cranberries and 1/2 c. of chopped dates. I also subbed 1/2c. applesauce and 1/2C. canola oil for the butter. Absolutely awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Great! I made some changes according to what I had in my pantry, and they were great! I doubled the nutmeg, because I love nutmeg. I used golden crisco instead of butter because I had a lot of it on hand, and it was great, just make sure when you are adding it melted to the milk that the milk is not too cold or else it will start to solidify. I added 1 1/2 cups of frozen fresh cranberries, this added a nide fresh tartness. I grated the apple because I don't like big chunks of apple in muffins. I used chopped dried dates instaed of the figs. I used walnuts because that was all I had. I also found it to fill 24 muffin cups to the top, they didn't rise a lot, but they were still fluffy. A lot of possibilities with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I do not like nuts in my baked goods, so my autumn muffins were sans hazelnuts. HUGE hit for Thanksgiving dinner and breakfast. Even the batter is yummy! I'll be making these again for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crozet, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
These were awesome! I made a couple of changes, half butter half applesauce, pecans instead of hazelnuts, and raisins instead of figs. I also subistituted some whole wheat flour for the white. I would definitely recommend making these, and next time I think I'm going to try the pumpkin suggestion from another baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are great! I made a few changes. I used Splenda (as I always do) to replace the sugar, and used walnuts instead of hazelnuts. Yum!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Awesome muffins! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These were AWESOME, but I did make some changes. I wasn't trying to rewrite the whole recipe, but I wanted them a bit heathier, and I make changes to every recipe. I am sharing what I did so that others who may want to substitute can feel comfortable doing so. I really appreciate your sharing this recipe and I think this is now our very favorite of all the muffins I have tried. I followed the recipe as it was written, I just made the follwing ingredient changes: I replaced the brown and white sugar for 1/4 c Splenda brown sugar, 1/4 c Splenda white sugar; used 8 oz of applesauce in lieu of the butter (two of the single serving kind), 1/2 c egg beaters, and I chopped one small apple and placed it in a measuring cup and filled it with orange juice until it reached 1 1/4 cup. This replaced the milk. I made this change because I didn't want the apples to brown while I was chopping the cranberries, plus with less sugar in the recipe, I felt I may need less fluids. I used one cup frozen cranberries. I kept the spices, flour, and leavening agents the same, but did not have figs or nuts to add. I made 10 jumbo muffins. Based on my ingredients, each jumbo muffin was 210 calories. Thanks again for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States