Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are great! I made a few changes. I used Splenda (as I always do) to replace the sugar, and used walnuts instead of hazelnuts. Yum!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Awesome muffins! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These were AWESOME, but I did make some changes. I wasn't trying to rewrite the whole recipe, but I wanted them a bit heathier, and I make changes to every recipe. I am sharing what I did so that others who may want to substitute can feel comfortable doing so. I really appreciate your sharing this recipe and I think this is now our very favorite of all the muffins I have tried. I followed the recipe as it was written, I just made the follwing ingredient changes: I replaced the brown and white sugar for 1/4 c Splenda brown sugar, 1/4 c Splenda white sugar; used 8 oz of applesauce in lieu of the butter (two of the single serving kind), 1/2 c egg beaters, and I chopped one small apple and placed it in a measuring cup and filled it with orange juice until it reached 1 1/4 cup. This replaced the milk. I made this change because I didn't want the apples to brown while I was chopping the cranberries, plus with less sugar in the recipe, I felt I may need less fluids. I used one cup frozen cranberries. I kept the spices, flour, and leavening agents the same, but did not have figs or nuts to add. I made 10 jumbo muffins. Based on my ingredients, each jumbo muffin was 210 calories. Thanks again for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
These were really good. To make them healthier, I used a cup of yogurt instead of the butter, whole wheat flour, and 1/2 cup of honey instead of all of that sugar. And it was sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good flavor. I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour, used dried cherries instead of cranberries, dates in place of figs and pecans. My husband loved the muffins and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I have made this three times and we love it. I do make some changes, to cut out the fat and add more fibre. I use 2 cups whole wheat, 1 cup white, 1/4 cup ground flax. I also use 1/4 cup melted butter and 1 cup of canned pumpkin-which really adds to the autumn flavour. I go a little heavy on the spices too, and I once left out the hazlenuts by accident and found that this recipe really needs the hazlenuts-they add a lot of flavour. I will continue to make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
These were awesome muffins. I loved everything about them. The spice flavor was perfect. I used freshly grated nutmeg which makes such a difference. I also followed the advice of another reviewer and grated the apple. I like that much better than apple chunks. Also, I didn't have any figs so I substituted raisins which, I thought, went quite well. My whole family loved these, so I'll definitely be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Too boring with all that flour. Perhaps add some wheat germ or cornmeal for a more interesting taste. Also, it would be better to grate the apples so that they help keep the muffins moist all over, rather than just have chunks in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Really, really tasty muffins! I followed the recipe as written except substituted applesauce for the butter. I really enjoyed the sweet tart flavor on Thanksgiving morning. Got good reviews from kids, hubby, and my mother too. I got 24 muffins out of a single recipe, so it made plenty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe for my specific needs. Instead of 3 cups all purpose flour, I used 2 c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. all purpose flour; I substituted honey for the white sugar and melted Smart Balance spread for the butter; I used fat free milk, as well, and left the apple unpeeled. Both my husband and I thought they were wonderful and I'll definitely make them again as they're fiber rich and full of flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States