Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I love these muffins! They are a bit time consuming, but well worth it. I substituted a few things: 1 1/2 cups white and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of 3 cups white flour; 1 cup homemade applesauce for the melted butter; walnuts for the hazelnuts; and I did not add the apple because I used chunky homemade applesauce in place of the butter. They came out wonderful! Full of flavor, moist, and a perfect breakfast or late afternoon-with-coffee muffin. I do want to try them with the hazelnuts - I just couldn't find them in grocery store. Love these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Mine turned out dry and didn't brown nicely. Followed the recipe except for subbing WW flour for half the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Perfect names for these muffins! Lovely treat on this chilly fall day. I made several changes based on ingredient availability and preference. I left out the hazelnuts, substituted dried cherries and dates for the cranberries and figs, used half whole wheat and half all purpose flour, plain yogurt for half the butter, and blue agave for half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wanderingturtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
These are EXCELLENT. I substituted 1/2 the margarine with applesauce & threw in a handful of chocolate chunks. Made 12 large muffins & baked for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roo
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I made them once and followed the recipe exactly (well, I left out figs and nuts and added more cranberries) and they turned out absolutely wonderful. I made them a second time last night with a few tweaks. I put in an extra teaspoon of baking powder, slightly more milk, even more berries (gotta love cranberries!), and shredded the apple instead of chopping it. They were even better than the first time! A little puffier and lighter thanks to the extra baking powder, and absolutely delicious. Everyone at work loves them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These muffins are so great! I got mixed dried fruits that included, dried cherries, cranberries, and dried golden raisins. I'm actually going to make them again, and add more apple. My step-dad wasn't sure he'd like them, but he ended up eating them over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
can't wait to make theese! they look so good! they'll make great "first day of fall gifts".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe that is very versatile in terms of what you add! I went with apples, dried cranberries and a mix of macadamia nuts and cashews. Also added a dollop of molasses as it was just asking for some and omitted ginger as I was out. So good... Definitely a 5 star base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love how you only dirty one bowl and the muffin tins! Very good and easy clean-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These are delicious. I used less ginger, cause I don't really like it much, and didn't use figs cause I didn't have them. Some sliced almonds, as I had them handy. Oh and I used a little applesauce (1/4 cup) to top off the butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States