Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I forgot to add, I also substituted 1 c. ww flour to make it more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Followed this to the recipe and it was good and nicely spiced. Next time I'll make up a spiced crumb topping to liven up the texture, and maybe use the hazelnuts in the crumb mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Tweaked it...loved it! Used toasted walnuts instead of hazelnuts, which I never have on hand, and used 1/2 cup melted unsalted butter and 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup melted butter. Grated the apple instead of chopping it. Also increased amounts of chopped fresh cranberries and dried figs once batter was complete as our crew likes lots of goodies in their muffins. Topped batter in one muffin pan with raw/turbinado sugar for a sweet 'n crunchy topping. We're working on those first as I find the surface of stored baked goods with sugar topping tends to get 'wet' as the sugar dissolves from the moisture in the baked goods. Baked in 2 silicone large-size muffin pans (got 12 muffins out of the batch) for 23 minutes. Whatever is leftover will be frozen individually for grab-n-go breakfasts. It shouldn't take them all that long to thaw. I think I want to try chopped banana in the next batch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
yum! these are really good. I wonder if anyone has tried them using less butter and whole wheat flower instead? 2 sticks butter, yikes! plus they were a tiny bit oily. I didn't have figs so i left them out and I substituted pecans for hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
These were so GOOD! I didn't have figs and hazelnuts, but I did have dried cherries and walnuts. That was my only substitution. I did add 1/2 a cup of flour since I am at a high elevation, but these came out perfect! I will keep this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These are crazy good. Thank you for the recipe! I can't believe how easy these are to make and turn out better than I can buy! Plus...you can't get them warm from the store, generally...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are hands-down, absolutely, positively, without-a-doubt the BEST MUFFINS I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. I cannot believe how freaking delicious these muffins really are. I did not change a single thing about this recipe (although I do use unbleached whole-wheat flour), and they came out absolutely perfect. In fact, I ended up with 28 muffins and I don't think I'll have a problem getting rid of them because they're so absolutely scrumptious. The texture is lovely, they are moist, fluffy and they are not too heavy. Next time, I will use a granny smith apple to add a bit more tang. So fantastic, thank you for sharing this recipe! Edit: I made these muffins again and I used a granny smith apple. My GOD, they are simply amazing. This time around, I whipped up some crumble topping for them and it was exactly what they needed. I am bringing these to a picnic tomorrow and I know my friends will be NUTS for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
As was stated by others, this is a wonderful batter for almost anything you'd like to add! I freestyled with nuts/seeds and dried fruit (I used sunflower seeds, dried cranberries and raisins) and it still turned out wonderfully. The fresh apple is an ingredient I wouldn't pass on. They were so wonderful I had to hide some in the freezer. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These muffins are excellent! I had a bunch of dried figs to use up from Christmas - the muffins are really moist and yummy. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McLeod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These are really yummy. I use cranberries, appled and dates, and I only put in a few walnuts. I actually filled the muffin tins and still ended up with 24 muffins! Next time I am going to take another reviewer's suggestion and use applesauce instead of butter....highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States