Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I left out the nuts, (preference) they were awesome. Shared them with my friends and they agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
These were... different. I made the recipe exacly as stated except I used chopped walnuts instead of hazelnuts. I expected warm, comforting, spicy muffins. They seem more like healthy fruit/bran breakfast muffins to me. The first day I couldn't even taste the cinnamon, but I do think they're better the second day. I will make these again though, but a day ahead and reheat them, but as a breakfast food or healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
These were a HUGE hit! They were delicious straight from the oven, and kept well. I used apples, craisins, dates and walnuts. A winning combination with the spices in the muffin. My husband thought these were a four star, but with a crumb topping would be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I liked these muffins but no one in my family did, so they were sent to work where they were given good reviews by everyone who tried them. I especially liked the sweetness of the apple and the crunch of hazelnut. Maybe I'll try walnuts or pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I have reviewed this recipe previously (see below), but would like to add more comments. First, substituting 1/2 of the flour with whole wheat flour still tastes great. Second, I am more satisfied with doubling the spice amounts (cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger). Maybe not the best thing if you consider yourself a supertaster or like spices to be subtle and not obvious. Third, I used walnuts previously, but hazelnuts ARE better in this recipe. Spread out the chopped nuts on a cookie sheet and toast in the oven at 350 deg for 10 min. These muffins have never failed to impress people! Here is my old review: A phenomenal muffin! A hit all around the board. Not having chopped hazelnuts, I substituted walnuts. Also I used dried cranberries (Craisins) instead of fresh. I may decide to try a sour cream or orange juice modification on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
As wonderful as they're said to be! My girls (5 & 9) love them and my husband took a bunch to work, which his coworkers loved! I used a fruit based fat substitute--there's one by Sunsweet and one by Polaners in place of the butter,and skim milk. This really cut the fat and the muffins are moist and delicious. I also omitted the nuts and figs and used dried cranberries--no chopping required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYLADY61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Very good! I forgot to chop the cranberries, although they were still good it would have been better if I had chopped them up as directed. I highly recomend using paper muffin liners so they aren't a mess to remove from the muffins tins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I was very skeptical about the ingredients in these muffins. However, these were really great and pretty healthy too. Used a sugar sub for the white sugar, and used half whole wheat flour. Didn't have hazelnuts, used walnuts instead. All the changes were still great. I'll make thsese any time I have harvest fruits to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
These are very good. I used a little more than 1 tsp. of apple pie spice instead of all the listed spices, used applesauce instead of butter. I scaled the recipe to half with no problems. I used 1'2 raisins & half cherry flavored crasins for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
comes out great everytime!! I used 1/2 of the butter and substitued a snack size apple sauce! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States