Autumn Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This soup was good but nothing spectacular. I didn't add the garlic powder or dried onion since I had already added fresh earlier. I like the flavor of the wine but it needs something else, still a little too bland. I may add carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I LOVED the soup, and assumed this person wouldn't have included the ingredients unless they were necessary for flavor. I followed the recipe as written and thought it was awesome, as far as lentil soups go. I added the finely minced carrot that was suggested by the submitter, and tossed a handful of fresh parsley on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Yum! Lentils + wine = delicious. I've made a ton of good lentil soup recipes from this website ("Apricot Lentil Soup", "Lentil Soup", "Moroccan Lentil Soup" to name a few) and this one is just as good as the others. Only a couple of minor changes: I didn't add the dried onion and dried parsley, I added fresh. I also added two finely chopped carrots and celery stalks to the soup. I couldn't figure out 1/2 lb, so I just added 1 1/2 cups of dried lentils. I also added about 3 tbsp of tomato paste. It turned out more soupy because I added an extra couple of cups of broth. The wine added a ton of unexpected flavor. It tasted almost lemony. Excellent soup and I'll definitely add it to my lentil soup rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Delicious and super easy. All I had on hand was pinot grigio, and it gave a wonderfully sweet flavor to the soup. I let this simmer for about 4 hours and served with homemade french baguettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Larson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Nordy
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this with a couple modifications. I used pre cooked lentils that were vacuum packed from my health food store. I had some left over Sauvignon Blanc (about 1 cup) and I let it cook for about 20 minutes with the onions, carrots, and some powdered chicken broth, some water, and salt and pepper. Then I added the lentils, and cooked for a few minutes until warm. Finally, I chopped up some fresh spinach and stirred it in and served. Yummmmmmmy! So much fiber, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Nordy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Amazing amazing! I added kales and extra spices it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
LOVED this soup. So simple and so yummy. Only a few minor changes, mostly due to what I had on-hand: I didn't have dried minced onion, so that got left out; I had fresh parsley, so I doubled the amount and used that; I liked the carrot and cilantro idea, so I added those (shredded carrot in with the onions, cilantro added to the finished soup); I cooked it for only an hour once all the ingredients were in-- the lentils were well soft by then. Such a wonderful, light, fall soup. I'm so glad I have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Pretty good. It has an interesting flavor. I did add carrots, and I think I would add potatoes and/or some other vegetables next time. There are other lentil soups I like a bit more but this one is certainly good enough to keep on the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States