Autumn Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This soup was good but nothing spectacular. I didn't add the garlic powder or dried onion since I had already added fresh earlier. I like the flavor of the wine but it needs something else, still a little too bland. I may add carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I LOVED the soup, and assumed this person wouldn't have included the ingredients unless they were necessary for flavor. I followed the recipe as written and thought it was awesome, as far as lentil soups go. I added the finely minced carrot that was suggested by the submitter, and tossed a handful of fresh parsley on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Yum! Lentils + wine = delicious. I've made a ton of good lentil soup recipes from this website ("Apricot Lentil Soup", "Lentil Soup", "Moroccan Lentil Soup" to name a few) and this one is just as good as the others. Only a couple of minor changes: I didn't add the dried onion and dried parsley, I added fresh. I also added two finely chopped carrots and celery stalks to the soup. I couldn't figure out 1/2 lb, so I just added 1 1/2 cups of dried lentils. I also added about 3 tbsp of tomato paste. It turned out more soupy because I added an extra couple of cups of broth. The wine added a ton of unexpected flavor. It tasted almost lemony. Excellent soup and I'll definitely add it to my lentil soup rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Delicious and super easy. All I had on hand was pinot grigio, and it gave a wonderfully sweet flavor to the soup. I let this simmer for about 4 hours and served with homemade french baguettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Nordy
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this with a couple modifications. I used pre cooked lentils that were vacuum packed from my health food store. I had some left over Sauvignon Blanc (about 1 cup) and I let it cook for about 20 minutes with the onions, carrots, and some powdered chicken broth, some water, and salt and pepper. Then I added the lentils, and cooked for a few minutes until warm. Finally, I chopped up some fresh spinach and stirred it in and served. Yummmmmmmy! So much fiber, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Nordy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Amazing amazing! I added kales and extra spices it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
LOVED this soup. So simple and so yummy. Only a few minor changes, mostly due to what I had on-hand: I didn't have dried minced onion, so that got left out; I had fresh parsley, so I doubled the amount and used that; I liked the carrot and cilantro idea, so I added those (shredded carrot in with the onions, cilantro added to the finished soup); I cooked it for only an hour once all the ingredients were in-- the lentils were well soft by then. Such a wonderful, light, fall soup. I'm so glad I have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Pretty good. It has an interesting flavor. I did add carrots, and I think I would add potatoes and/or some other vegetables next time. There are other lentil soups I like a bit more but this one is certainly good enough to keep on the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States