Autumn Harvest Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Just made these and they are a perfectly wonderful cookie. The spice and orange are subtle and not overwhelming at all. Really great with a cup of tea. I used quick oats instead of rolled oats as it is what I had on hand so I cannot tell you how the cookies are with the rolled oats. I do know that the quick oats performed perfectly in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Just took out my 1st batch of Autumn Harvest Cookies and they are yummy!! Can't wait to share them with the girls at work. I also used baking soda instead of baking powder. I personally love the hint of orange but I think next time i'll add a little orange zest too just for fun. In the directions it says to use just a teaspoon of dough but I used a tablespoon and it still just took 10 minutes in my oven. I'll be making these all season long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These cookies were really good! I normally don't like things with orange flavor in them however, I really love these. Next time, we will add some chocolate chips. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are awesome. Doubled the amount of orange extract, used half a cup of the cranberries and half a cup of raisins. I had to cook these about 12-14 minutes to get the "browned edges" effect, but it could just be my oven. Made them for poker night and they were demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I've made these twice. The first time I inadvertantly used baking soda instead of baking powder and they were great!!!! 5 stars!! The second time, I corrected the error and used baking powder. The results were not as nice. They weren't as chewy and I found them to be drier, still tasted good, but definitely not 5 stars like the last batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ty T.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These were exactly what I was craving! Very delicious! My roommates and I are enjoying them a lot. I used apple pie spice instead of pumpkin pie spice because that is what I had and they turned out great! I will probably have to make a new batch in a couple days...these are going fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
used 1/2 splenda & I made 72 coolies w/ my scoop-these are lightly sweet w/ nice hint of orange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These were incredible. I added both baking powder and salt. Also, didn't have the orange called for by the recipe, so added orange juice and followed another reviewer's tip to make a glaze from powdered sugar and orange juice and cinnamon. These embodied the taste of fall. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great cookies!! I have made a few times. I have added some orange zest one time, it was very good also. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I've made these cookies several times now. A definite keeper. I don't have orange extract, so I used a fresh orange and squeezed a teaspoon of juice and a teaspoon of grated zest. Gives them a nice subtle orange flavor. I also used a full cup of walnuts. I went with the suggestion to use baking soda rather than powder and they came out deliciously soft and chewy. One time I drizzled them with melted white chocolate and the next time with a powdered sugar/orange juice/cinnamon glaze. Fabulous either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States