Autumn Harvest Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I've made these twice. The first time I inadvertantly used baking soda instead of baking powder and they were great!!!! 5 stars!! The second time, I corrected the error and used baking powder. The results were not as nice. They weren't as chewy and I found them to be drier, still tasted good, but definitely not 5 stars like the last batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These cookies were delicious. I added an extra tablespoon or so of brown sugar and used 1 teaspoon of OJ because I didn't have any orange extract. The flavor was good, but a little lacking, so I made an orange glaze (powdered sugar, orange juice, and cinnamon) which added exactly what was missing. They got rave reviews from all of my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Just made these and they are a perfectly wonderful cookie. The spice and orange are subtle and not overwhelming at all. Really great with a cup of tea. I used quick oats instead of rolled oats as it is what I had on hand so I cannot tell you how the cookies are with the rolled oats. I do know that the quick oats performed perfectly in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These are so good! Please note this is not a overly sweet cookie. It is nicely spiced, soft and chewy from the oats and craisins (what I used) with a little crunch from the nuts with a slight orange boost. Tastes like Autumn in one little bite. We love them and will prepare them again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I'd give these 5 stars for flavor and 4 stars for texture. I agree with other reviewers that they are slightly dry - not in a bad way at all, I just prefer cookies like this to be a bit chewier and 'melt in your mouth'. To compensate I undercooked them, but maybe next time I'll take others' advice and use baking soda. They are really delicious, and I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are awesome. Doubled the amount of orange extract, used half a cup of the cranberries and half a cup of raisins. I had to cook these about 12-14 minutes to get the "browned edges" effect, but it could just be my oven. Made them for poker night and they were demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ty T.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These were exactly what I was craving! Very delicious! My roommates and I are enjoying them a lot. I used apple pie spice instead of pumpkin pie spice because that is what I had and they turned out great! I will probably have to make a new batch in a couple days...these are going fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Love. Love. LOVED this! I didn't find this dry in the least. Instead there were lovely, chewy and I adored the flavour. I didn't have any orange extract on hand, so I used 1 Tbsp of orange juice and 1 tsp of orange marmalade to ensure I got the orange flavour. Also, I halved this to test the recipe, hence the scaled down recipe called for 1/4 cup of brown and white sugar each. However, I skipped the white sugar completely and used only 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I ensured that the butter and sugar was beaten very very well before addng in the egg. After which I let it beat for atleast over 2-3 minutes, and then added the extracts (vanilla, OJ, marmalade) , once again beating well. I didn't use the machine to add in the flour / oats / cranberries / walnuts so that the dough wouldn't be over worked. I got 25 lovely cookies from this, although it took me 18 minutes to bake these (and they weren't dry in the least). Oh also, I ran out of pumpkin pie spice, so I used Scotdog's personal recipe for Pumpkin Pie Spice called 'Kelly's Pumpkin Pie Spice' which was simply wonderful. (I've reviewed it too). This cookie definitely beats the normal oat and raisin cookies .... a lovely new find and a fast favourite! Thanks ramie7224 for sharing this recipe with us! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! I did not have orange extract so I left that out. I also substituted 1/2 of the butter for pumpkin puree to save some calories and add an extra element of "fall" and they turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Good cookie, but definitely a cookie for an adult pallet. It is somewhat bitter with the cranberries which was good but the cookie itself was not sweet enough for my guests. I myself enjoyed the cookie but was outvoted. If I tried this recipe again I might add more sugar or consider an sweet orange icing to zip it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States