Autumn Harvest Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! The perfect recipe for a fall treat! I made this for a women's only gathering although my husband and kids loved them also. I had to make a couple changes for dietary reasons. I made them with gluten free flour. I also substituted xylitol for the white sugar, and substitued 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin for 1/2 the butter, then added two more tablespoons of butter. Usually gluten free can be dry but these were very moist. They were a tad bit cake like because of the substitution of the flour. I know that these substitutions can change a lot but I wanted to hopefully help someone who was wondering about making these gluten free and lower glycemic. Go for it-they will not disappoint! These had the perfect sweetness to them and are great with coffee!! I will be making again and again. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These cookies are delicious! We love them! Made them as is and they were good. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Love. Love. LOVED this! I didn't find this dry in the least. Instead there were lovely, chewy and I adored the flavour. I didn't have any orange extract on hand, so I used 1 Tbsp of orange juice and 1 tsp of orange marmalade to ensure I got the orange flavour. Also, I halved this to test the recipe, hence the scaled down recipe called for 1/4 cup of brown and white sugar each. However, I skipped the white sugar completely and used only 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I ensured that the butter and sugar was beaten very very well before addng in the egg. After which I let it beat for atleast over 2-3 minutes, and then added the extracts (vanilla, OJ, marmalade) , once again beating well. I didn't use the machine to add in the flour / oats / cranberries / walnuts so that the dough wouldn't be over worked. I got 25 lovely cookies from this, although it took me 18 minutes to bake these (and they weren't dry in the least). Oh also, I ran out of pumpkin pie spice, so I used Scotdog's personal recipe for Pumpkin Pie Spice called 'Kelly's Pumpkin Pie Spice' which was simply wonderful. (I've reviewed it too). This cookie definitely beats the normal oat and raisin cookies .... a lovely new find and a fast favourite! Thanks ramie7224 for sharing this recipe with us! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These didn't spread out at all. I ended up with tiny little round cookies. My husband really loved them, so I will probably make them again. I though that they were a little on the dry side, but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I have made this cookies a few times now always around this time of year. They are one of our favorite! I made them a bit smaller this time they I usually do and ended up with 3 dozen cookies. Plenty enough to share! Everyone just loved them. They are quite festive looking as well. I’ll be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These are really good. Its the orange extract that makes them special. Next time I will try whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I rated this recipe 5 stars because: 1) its an excellent blend of flavors and textures, and 2) its VERY customizable. I just made it with some alterations, which turned out GREAT and made the recipe even healthier: 1/2 C Splenda instead of white sugar (still used brown sugar) 0.5 C butter, 0.5 C canned pumpkin 1 C all-purpose flour, 0.5 C whole wheat flour 1.5 C rolled oats, 1 C quick oats Baking soda instead of baking powder Added 1.5 Tbsp flaxseed meal Used Craisins instead of plain cranberries After 10-11 min at 350, the cookies turned out thick, moist and chewy, with a very slight Splenda aftertaste (next time I may use Stevia, or less Splenda and some white sugar) but I'm the only one who noticed the Splenda taste. The Craisins are perfect--make sure you get a lot in each cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! I did not have orange extract so I left that out. I also substituted 1/2 of the butter for pumpkin puree to save some calories and add an extra element of "fall" and they turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Yum! These are really good! Very sweet, probably from the cranberries, bc in the scheme of things that's not that much sugar in cookies. I made larger cookies so didnt' get a huge amount, but they are packed with flavor and heft from all the ingredients. They spread a bit, but not a lot, so you don't have to worry if you like your cookies not to be flat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Husband who is the cookie expert said this is 5 stars! Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have orange extract so just doubled the vanilla. Used a little old fashioned oats (all I had) but mostly quick oats. Not super sweet but that works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States