Autumn Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very yummy. First time I made this, I also found it needed more juice. Next time, I doubled the amount of butter, flour, water and it was so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Not real impressed. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
There was not enough broth and I had to add 2 cans of beef broth. Also was more like a soup then a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This turned out great! Tasted just like my mom's that I grew up with! I did add more liquid. An extra 1/2c water and about 1/2c milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Fantastic! I started with this as a base with two substituions: Rather than using celery seed, I used 4 stalks of celery cut into 1 to 1 1/2 inch lengths. Rather than using one large union I used 3/4 lb of pearl onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick
Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This smelled so good we couldn't wait 8 hours! I added 1 can of diced tomato and used 1 1/2 c. beef boullion and 1/2 c. water. Was very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I also had to add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe! We just loved this stew. It just needs quite a bit more liquid than the recipe calls for. I added about 3 additional cups of water with salt and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Great recipe but I too added 1 cup water mixed with 2 packets of instant Bovril Beef bouillon to give some flavour. Also I substituted lean hamburger for the beef... no fatty pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I cut the recipe in half (there's only 2 of us!), and added a can of beef broth - without it, I don't think it would have been very stew-like at all, as others have said. I also sprinkled a little garlic powder on the beef before I browned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States