Autumn Apple Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very, very tart. Good mix of flavors however, with the cranberries etc. Next time I will either do half/half sweeter apples with the tart, or add vanilla pudding to take away a little bit of the pucker. I thought the review of lemon juice and honey may be worth a try as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe was OK, especially considering how quick it was to throw together. It was somewhat bland. It tasted good but had no zing. I might try a couple of different combos to make it tastier, like lemon or flavored yogurt..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
SUPER EASY! And tasty.I have upped the amount for a couple different potlucks. Always a HUGE hit. Especially for the college meal that my church did. Great for those last minute potluck. The last time I made it (doubled), the apples were crazy expensive so I did 4 apples and 4 pears. Also did one container of vanilla and one container of caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Great recipe and very easy to make. I added fresh strawberries which tastes great! I would recommend only using three apples or add more yogurt if using more than three apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I LOVE this salad!!! I've made it a half dozen times to take to family gatherings and parties and it's always a big hit. I like to keep all the ingredients on hand to make single servings just for me. I recommend chilling the apples and preparing it just before serving, once made it's only good for about 24 hours. Also I like it better without the dried cherries. Just double the dried cranberries and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good salad. I used two Granny Smith apples and two Gala apples, and I tossed them with some lemon juice before adding the other ingredients. I used pecans in addition to the almonds, and did not have cherries so only used dried cranberries. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was very good. The vanilla yogurt really helped to tame the tartness of the granny smith apples I used. Loved the cranberries and cherries, too - but the delicious toasted almonds is what made the dish something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
So easy to make with ingredients usually on hand. I've made this 2x this year & people always go back for seconds & thirds. I usually use 1/2 tart & 1/2 sweet apples and have yet to make it w/ the cherries so don't worry if you don't have them it's still just as good. I've never used any preserver and my apples aren't brown 2 or 3 days later. I think the yogurt helps preserve them. Also, I like it better when it's made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe and I was pleasantly surprised! I used 1 honey crisp and 2 macontash and it was just perfect. I only used 3 apples because they were pretty large in size. The almonds really add to the flavor! I will make this again. I didn't find that it lacked in flavor, however I've set a side a small portion and used strawberry yogurt (it makes it look more dessert like), other than that I preferred the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States