Autumn Apple Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this for Christmas brunch. I used red and green apples, and chilled overnight. Huge hit with everyone, but I love it for snacks, so now I am making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Everyone loved this and wants the recipe. Followed the recipe exactly doubling it so I'd have enough. I squeezed half a lemon juice onto the apples to retain color. I was curious to see how the salad would hold up overnight and I must say the leftovers were even yummier! There won't be any left to see what 48 hrs does to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Tasted great as written, made it a second time with red apples, pomegrante seeds instead of cranberries and cherries & I added a bit of lemon juice and sour cream. Just wonderful stuff, I am going to serve this the next time I make pork chops. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was a nice change of pace for a side dish. I used green delicious apples and double the amount of dried cherries. The contrast of sweet and tart was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was a hit at my work pot-luck. Simple ingredients & easy preperation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
The salad is good, but has to be eaten immediately. I tried to refrigerate some and the results wer not good. The cherries and cranberries swelled and the apples started to juice due to the yogurt. Make certain you can eat it right after preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
So easy and delicious! Great side dish or potluck item. Good side for taking a family a meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
What a great recipe to go with Chili or Beef Stew for an autumn supper! I used a honey Greek yogurt which is much creamier and thicker than a standard yogurt and added a drop of vanilla oil and a squirt of honey. I used 3 Jonathan apples and 1 Granny Smith. This was fabulous and even better two days later. I also added some lemon juice so the apples wouldn't turn brown. 07/08/11 I have made this numerous times since I first reviewed in fall 2010. This is a great recipe. I recently made for 4th of July picnic using 4 different kinds of apples (Granny Smith, Pink Cripps, Pink Lady and Fuji). I doubled the recipe for a large group and added vanilla to the plain Greek yogurt as I suggested in my first review. So many compliments and there was no leftovers to take home. I think the name Autumn Apple Salad is misleading as this recipe transcends the seasons. Another reviewer stated that dried fruit is too expensive. Yes, it is, but small amounts are called for and really make this dish sing. Especially the dried cherries. Try some honey too, as I think that also adds to the flavor immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Yummy. nice change from the regular side dish with dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
did not care for this at all, I was excited to try it but very disappointed. Others at the dinner enjoyed it I thought it had a funny after taste. Maybe it was the cranberries, guess I would try fresh fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States