Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
At one of my cooking jobs, we made our own 1000, we added this stuff but we ran it through the grater attachment on the mixer to save time in chopping (we used whole pickles instead of relish to save money, and since we were grinding it anyway), plus to give it the pink color, we ground up canned or pickled beets for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Hubs requested a salad with Thousand Island Dressing for supper tonight and, while I was really enthusiastic about this recipe, I went into it with a great deal of skepticism, thinking he would never go for it - because it wasn't orange-ish. I was even tempted to add paprika or a dab of tomato paste just to psych him. In the end, I decided against it and prepared it just as is. To my surprise, delight and relief he remarked that the color of the dressing was an immediate tip-off that this was the real deal, the house made stuff you get in great supper clubs. I agree. This was beyond delicious, so different from commercially prepared Thousand Island dressings, and worth the few extra steps it took to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was fantastic like another view were I live there was a woman that always made the dressing in the restaurant she is no longer with us. rip BAB. The only changes I made I used green olives because husband don't care for black & a little chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe, I took out the eggs and added a pinch of garlic powder and smoked paprika. Great on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Love it. I did not add the eggs because I was not sure how long it would last before going bad. It would be easier for me to just add some of the egg in a smaller portion the day I would use it. I also did not have a red pepper on hand but I did have roasted red pepper in the fridge and used that. I gave half to my Mom and only made half the recipe. Now that I know how good this is I wish I did the full amount! Oh, the thousand Island I had in my fridge has been thrown out! Yup, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Mmmmmmm! WOW! I was looking for a tasty 1000 Island recipes-I found it! Granted we usually eat steamed, baked or vinagrated veggies- we were wanted a good, old fashioned green salad with all the fixings. I made 1/2 recipe, omitted sugar,cloves & bell pepper - but added seasoned rice vinegar( a kitchen favorite in our home) & Sirachacha ( Asian roosster sauce- sweet/ hot chili sauce-very popular these days- on West coast) and added 2 eggs for 1/2 redcipe! Yummy! Plus now the dressing has a pink hue to it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joes wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The only thing that I changed was the sugar content. I used the a natural sweetener and it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tnviv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I thought this was excellent. 1-31-13: Scale back to serving for 4, but try two eggs. Still excellent. 5-24-13: Used 1 egg in serving for 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious. Brought it to Thanksgiving dinner and my family went nuts over it. HOWEVER, be forewarned...if you follow the recipe as written you end up with almost a half gallon of dressing. Perfect if you're making it for a church potluck or something but it's far more than I could ever use before it goes bad. May want to cut the recipe in half if you have a small household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCADAMA
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this recipe this afternoon after watching a PBS documentary on the origins of the dressing (view documentary here at http://youtu.be/M1hlYKIpbJg). The dressing is lovely, so much more flavor than store bought. My hubby was rather skeptical at first ("it's not orange" -lol!!) but loves it as well. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Marcy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States