Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Thanks thanks thanks !!!! Thousand Island dressing is our favorite however concerned about all the additives to commercial dressing. This taste great and easy to make. Only changes was left out the olives and use light mayo. Will keep it on hand from now on!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
this was very good. i had everything on had. made as written but after the second day i wanted a bit more sweetness to it; i added a bit of ketchup and it was perfect; and also a bit of water to thin. thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious! There is nothing better than a dressing made from scratch! My warning here is this...you make this once and you will forever have to make this! No bottled Thousand Island can compare. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Just made this, but I was a tad disapointed since it came out rather sour for my taste, I think it was relish overload, but I love relish. I didn't have the black olives, so omiited. Perhaps that was the problem. Altogether, I would try this again with 1/2 relish. Also, I used light mayo and splenda, am on low carb diet. Thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
At one of my cooking jobs, we made our own 1000, we added this stuff but we ran it through the grater attachment on the mixer to save time in chopping (we used whole pickles instead of relish to save money, and since we were grinding it anyway), plus to give it the pink color, we ground up canned or pickled beets for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Hubs requested a salad with Thousand Island Dressing for supper tonight and, while I was really enthusiastic about this recipe, I went into it with a great deal of skepticism, thinking he would never go for it - because it wasn't orange-ish. I was even tempted to add paprika or a dab of tomato paste just to psych him. In the end, I decided against it and prepared it just as is. To my surprise, delight and relief he remarked that the color of the dressing was an immediate tip-off that this was the real deal, the house made stuff you get in great supper clubs. I agree. This was beyond delicious, so different from commercially prepared Thousand Island dressings, and worth the few extra steps it took to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was fantastic like another view were I live there was a woman that always made the dressing in the restaurant she is no longer with us. rip BAB. The only changes I made I used green olives because husband don't care for black & a little chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe, I took out the eggs and added a pinch of garlic powder and smoked paprika. Great on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Love it. I did not add the eggs because I was not sure how long it would last before going bad. It would be easier for me to just add some of the egg in a smaller portion the day I would use it. I also did not have a red pepper on hand but I did have roasted red pepper in the fridge and used that. I gave half to my Mom and only made half the recipe. Now that I know how good this is I wish I did the full amount! Oh, the thousand Island I had in my fridge has been thrown out! Yup, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States