Authentic Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I thought this was great. Of course, I did read the reviews and modified a bit. My one local Asian store did not have lime leaves. So I took the advice of another viewer and used the zest of a lime. I also added the lime shell to the pot once I took out the juice. I added more fish sauce and added Red curry paste (lots.) I like that spicy/salty/sweet taste. I used Palm sugar (I have that, I'm sure brown is fine, but I like the Palm Sugar.) I did not precook the shrimp. I added it at the end. It added a lot of shrimp flavor to the dish. I cooked it for a few minutes on simmer and the shrimp was so sweet. For leftovers, I took the shrimp out and heated the soup without the shrimp. I dropped in the shrimp to the heated soup. This way it does not dry out the shrimp and still so sweet. I also added a 1/4 cup of cilantro which I love in Thai cooking. I also took the shells of the shrimp and cooked them with water to get a great shrimp broth. Will be using that in a Tom Yum soup. Thank you for this recipe. YUM. Next time I will double the soup, as I will freeze the soup and add the shrimp as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this soup, and it turned out better than a restaurant! It was surprisingly easy to make as well. I would have given it 5 stars but the fish sauce made our kitchen smell pretty bad, and now I am forbidden from making it when my bf is home. Tasted amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This "Authentic Thai Coconut Soup" was quite delicious. I made a special trip to an Asian market near my home to get red curry powder (as per the first review by the submitter of the recipe) since I had never heard of red curry powder before. The Chinese owner told me that I could just use regular curry powder, but a hot version. I consulted with one of my reference books on herbs and spices, and could only find curry pastes listed under Thai cooking. I will continue looking for Thai red curry powder in my local Asian markets because I really do want to make an authentic dish. Thank you MIREYZ for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Loved the ease and deliciousness of this recipe. The hardest part was finding the lime leaves and figuring out what is galangal. The woman at the store was pointing at the syllables and pronouncing them very slowly and loudly when I was trying to get assurance that is was, in fact, the ingredient I was searching for. I have not tried any variation on this recipe as it is amazing as it is and the search for the ingredients was a lot of fun. Yay Asia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
When we visited Thailand in April, this was my favorite dish, so upon my return home, I looked for the recipe with the best reviews. I was truly grateful for finding a good recipe & I made it according to the recipe, except I used oyster mushrooms instead (I had it in a local thai restaurant not in Thailand with regular mushrooms and they are too strong...in Thailand it was always the oyster mushroom). Two changes I would make according to what we ate consistently in the Bangkok & Krabi regions of Thailand & we even cooked this ourselves at the Smart Cook Thailand cooking school in Krabi. 1) Use oyster mushrooms, they have a milder flavor, this is what you find in Thailand. 2) Don't use so much lime juice, if any at all. When we cooked it, we used the lime leaves, no lime juice & none of the places we ate this in Thailand tasted this limey! Obviously, if you don't have the lime leaves (which according to the Thai are a critical ingredient! you should zest some lime or use a little lime juice to get just a hint of the flavor, but the soup shouldn't taste like lime coconut) I have noticed, however, in local restaurants it will be called coconut lime soup...maybe this is limier & not the same as what we were eating in Thailand, but all other ingredients were the same. Also, in Thailand, they leave all the lemongrass, ginger, lime leaves in & you pick them out when you eat it! Thank you for a great recipe to start off with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
A few reviewers suggested adding some chicken broth to lighten it up and I did the same. I shopped a food market where I could find the items. Threw some spinach in at the end and served over cellophane noodles. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
pretty good soup. i wasn't wowed. i might try it again and fiddle with the proportions of the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This soup was WONDERFUL, I did use the Red Thai Curry paste instead of curry powder. Also added choppe broc, sliced red onions, and chopped tomatos because I just love extra vegies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was awesome. I used lime zest since I had no kaffir lime leaves, and subbbed chicken for the shrimp ( as that is what the Thai restaurant I first had this at used...) Topped it with chopped cilantro. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dezzie
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
So good! I used mahi mahi instead of shrimp and 2 1/2 cups chicken stock instead of the second can of coconut milk to lighten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States