Authentic South Indian Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I made this with ground kabob chicken meat which was too wet to stay together on the skewer. This recipe is really good and I will make it again. I did not use any cloves - wife dislikes the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Wow! My family loved this recipe. I followed the recipe as written, and while it did take a while to prepare, I felt the flavors developed nicely. It wasn't quite what I was expecting when I pulled it out of the oven; there was very little sauce, but my kids (3 and 5 years old) ate it like it was going out of style. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Loved this! I cooked it a lot more simply (and faster), and would do that again. I didn't bake it at all, but just simmered it for about 10 minutes on the stove after adding the yogurt. I used only 1 Tbl. oil, 1 onion (which I thought was plenty!), 2 pods of cardamom (1 wasn't enough), 2 tsp. ginger (instead of 1/4 tsp.), 1/2 tsp. chili powder, and didn't dilute the yogurt with water. The recipe didn't state when to add the mint and cilantro, so I just added them at the end, right before serving (in addition, I used only half the amounts of mint and cilantro called for). Perfect! Note that 16 oz. of yogurt is equal to 2 cups. I also made the rice separately in my rice cooker. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I'm the author of this: apologies. Please add the mint while cooking the gravy and add cilanthro at the very end in the gravy as well. The rice must be boiled half way before putting it in to bake, otherwise it will turn into mush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I wouldn't know about the authencity, as I have never had this before.......but I do know about flavour, flavour!! Unfortunately I didn't have time to bake, so did a little extra time on stove and basmati rice on the side. I added an extra clove and pod, cause you can never have too much of a good thing. Will be making and baking this one again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Turned out good. Not sure how authentic a biryani this is though. I used biryani masala powder (available at all indian stores)instead of the cloves, cardamom and cinnamon and used onion powder instead of onions. I also cooked it on the stove instead of baking. It was quite good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
yummmmm...great taste (just don't accidentally use vanilla yogurt unless you want a sweet biryani ;) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My whole family really really enjoyed this dish. It wasn't too spicey for the picky kids but was interesting and flavorful enough for my husband and I to enjoy. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Considering that Biryani is totally a north Indian dish, I was intrigued by the title. I was all the more puzzled when the recipe called for baking. However, following the recipe, I ended up with a fabulous dish. Really as authentic as I have known it. Few pointers. The quantity of salt is not clear. I added 1.5 teaspoons of salt to the rice and a teaspoon to the sauce. The recipe does not tell you what to do with the cilantro,mint and lime. Squeeze the lime before baking. Cilantro,mint can be added the last minute and tossed before taking out of the oven. Being a vegetarian, I totally eliminated the chicken and substituted it with 2 boiled eggs. Worked just fine! Great with cucumber raita! Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at making south indian biryani. I added a few modifications to this recipe such as adding more cloves and cardamum. I also added a bay leaf to add more flavor and aroma. I also added the store bought biryani mix which made it tasty but extra spicy. I did not have any mint but it still came out flavorful. Overall this was a good biryani but I will make sure not too add too much of the biryani mix or find a more milder one. I think next time when my parents come to visit I may make it for them. I think they would be proud. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States