Authentic South Indian Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Loved this! I cooked it a lot more simply (and faster), and would do that again. I didn't bake it at all, but just simmered it for about 10 minutes on the stove after adding the yogurt. I used only 1 Tbl. oil, 1 onion (which I thought was plenty!), 2 pods of cardamom (1 wasn't enough), 2 tsp. ginger (instead of 1/4 tsp.), 1/2 tsp. chili powder, and didn't dilute the yogurt with water. The recipe didn't state when to add the mint and cilantro, so I just added them at the end, right before serving (in addition, I used only half the amounts of mint and cilantro called for). Perfect! Note that 16 oz. of yogurt is equal to 2 cups. I also made the rice separately in my rice cooker. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I'm the author of this: apologies. Please add the mint while cooking the gravy and add cilanthro at the very end in the gravy as well. The rice must be boiled half way before putting it in to bake, otherwise it will turn into mush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Considering that Biryani is totally a north Indian dish, I was intrigued by the title. I was all the more puzzled when the recipe called for baking. However, following the recipe, I ended up with a fabulous dish. Really as authentic as I have known it. Few pointers. The quantity of salt is not clear. I added 1.5 teaspoons of salt to the rice and a teaspoon to the sauce. The recipe does not tell you what to do with the cilantro,mint and lime. Squeeze the lime before baking. Cilantro,mint can be added the last minute and tossed before taking out of the oven. Being a vegetarian, I totally eliminated the chicken and substituted it with 2 boiled eggs. Worked just fine! Great with cucumber raita! Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My whole family really really enjoyed this dish. It wasn't too spicey for the picky kids but was interesting and flavorful enough for my husband and I to enjoy. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was very bland. I live in an Indian neighborhood and have had excellent Biryani before and this was a huge disappointment. It smells right but tastes like nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I wouldn't know about the authencity, as I have never had this before.......but I do know about flavour, flavour!! Unfortunately I didn't have time to bake, so did a little extra time on stove and basmati rice on the side. I added an extra clove and pod, cause you can never have too much of a good thing. Will be making and baking this one again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I rated this one the day after I made it and said that I thought the proportions were out - too much rice! Not enough liquid & spices..added garam masala, coriander, cumin etc...also added steamed (can microwave or fry) chunks of potato before baking...tasty with afew modifications..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Sorry, but I just wasn't thrilled. The rice turned to mush and the overall flavor was just so-so. It would maybe be helped by making the sauce and cooking the rice completely on the stove and skipping the oven part all together. Also, I'm glad I looked at the reviews to figure out when would be a good time to add the cilantro and mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at making south indian biryani. I added a few modifications to this recipe such as adding more cloves and cardamum. I also added a bay leaf to add more flavor and aroma. I also added the store bought biryani mix which made it tasty but extra spicy. I did not have any mint but it still came out flavorful. Overall this was a good biryani but I will make sure not too add too much of the biryani mix or find a more milder one. I think next time when my parents come to visit I may make it for them. I think they would be proud. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very bland. The spice mix did not produce even a hint of what I think biryani should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States