Authentic Pizza Margherita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I would like to comment on the use of the word "authentic". Since pizza Margherita can be made with any sauce or mozz cheese & basil, does not make it "authentic". Authentic Margarita Pizza is made with San Marzano tomatoes grown in a small part of Italy and are labeled DOC, which is the Denomination of controlled origin. It controls "the permitted ingredients and defines the production process".Also the cheese is made from buffalo milk and is sold as buffalo mozzarella. The type of flour used is tippo OO a soft grain flour. It gets a sprinkle of olive oil and is baked in a very hot oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Grisafe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Somebody fix the recipe! It has been altered somehow. How much flower?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is THE pizza dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My family including my 7 y.o. son loved this recipe! It is delicious and as good as a restaurant. Follow the directions exactly - just adjust the amount of sauce, you don't want to put too much on. Also, you must use fresh mozzarella for the best flavor! Don't skip the olive oil or the sea salt, they matter, believe me! If it's too dry, add a little more water. If it's too wet, add more flour. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Love, love, love it! Followed the recipe pretty carefully, except for a few "common sense" observations, thinking alterations could be made after the initial try! I didn't use all of the flour, as it "looked" good with just 3 cups! Also, reading the other reviews, I agree that more specific instructions for the yeast and water mixture should be included! I do wish however, that I could figure out how to make the crust crispier...any ideas? Use cornmeal on the stone instead of flour! Highly, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I admit that I cheated. I used Mama Mia's premade crust, then finished with toppings as directed. The picture showed tomatoes, so I thinly sliced a garden tomato and added it before cooking. Delicious! I will make this a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is EXCELLENT!! It is our new favorite pizza! Make sure the water is about 110 degrees to activate the yeast. We have tried this with several different toppings and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Good... However, the crust wasn't crispy at all. Also, the recipe doesn't say to use warm water with the yeast, which you need to know. I wasted one packet because it wouldn't activate due to my using of room temperature water. I would make this again, but I will have to alter it some more. For me, I could only use two cups of flour per one cup water, or the other flour wouldn't mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I have to agree with the majority that this pizza is out of this world! My kids thought it was better than our favorite pizza joint. I used Contadina Pizza Sauce (all there products are fabulous in my opinion), peppers, onions, pepperoni, and spinach. I tried both the shredded mozzarella and the fresh mozzarella to see the difference and hands down the fresh mozzarella was much, much more tasty. I did not have sea salt and like spinach on my pizza, so I did not use basil. I topped it off with olive oil and cracked black pepper. As a well-known picky eater, I can't say enough about how good this pizza is. I would recommend trying a second time if you did not rate it well the first time. DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I have now made this recipe many times. It IS great and just like a Margherita pizza should be. I made only a few changes. First off I only use 3 cups of flour, anymore makes it dry and unmanageable. I use quick rise yeast too. I also use my food processor to do the dough which works great. I divide mine in HALF. I found them to be too small if divided into 4. I also just use a pizza pan and not oven tiles. I just keep an eye on it but it takes about the same time to bake. I also put a few more Basil leaves on because the shrink when baked. So I put on at least 8. The mozzarella even in large slices should melt down and spread out but if that doesn't work for you tear it into smaller pieces and dot it all over. Just do not use too much or it can make the pizza too WET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Ouala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States