Authentic Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I agree with several of the other comments that it turned out a bit greasy, which, as another commentor pointed out, is easily resolved after the fact, but just be aware that if you don't want it greasy, you'll have to fix it. I also thought that for the amount of time you had to cook it, it didn't really have a ton of flavor, and I personally felt that it needed a lot more salt. My husband is a chef, however, and he absolutely loved it, so I've given it a 4/5. He also pointed out that I probably boiled it a bit too hard, which makes the broth cloudy. He said 'simmer it really low and don't stir it, and you'll have a nice, clear broth'. FYI. Anyway, in the end, once you add all the accoutrements, it's pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sydow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
We enjoyed this "Authentic Pho" recipe, and appreciated the fact that it was made with relatively easy-to-find and economical ingredients compared with other Pho recipes. I would not hesitate to serve it to my family who live in a rural area without much exposure to international cuisines. I myself prefer the Pho served in my favorite local Vietnamese restaurant, which has a much richer and more flavorful broth (presumably because it is made with hard-to-find and more expensive ingredients). I also think that the broth needs a stronger star anise flavor (although it is true that we like highly-seasoned food in our home). I would at least triple the star anise if I were to make this recipe again. Thank you Allrecipes for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeBeK
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
For sake of simplicity and easiness...I don't have 6 hours to cook! I used a premix store bought pho spices. You can find it in an oriental grocery store. I boil pork rib bones or beef bones with the spices for 1 hour, then follow the rest of the recipe. I like it spicy, so I add fresh Thai chilli pepper and Ning Chi Chilli Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This pho is so delicious and very easy to customize into a vegetarian recipe, believe it or not! Loved the flavor of the star anise in this soup, and the roasted onion is genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalyn Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I'm currently making this for the first time, and I will come back to update when I taste the end product. I simmered the bones for awhile and the broth ended up being too strong. I watered it down to taste, measured the broth to see how much there was, and it's right around 7 cups. So, for my own notes and as a point of reference for other people who try this, you'll want to add enough water to make 7 cups of broth after you strain the bones and such out of the broth. Adjust to your preference from there, boiling off water or adding water. I simmered the bone broth for about 7-8 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arlenefool
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
If you have a large enough slow cooker you can set the broth going and have pho for supper after work. This recipe is great, it tastes just like the pho at my favorite restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this tonight and it was a huge hit, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is definitely, as the name implies, authentic tasting! I followed the recipe exactly, and it worked out well, with the exception that I would add less salt initially and let everyone taste and add as they desire, since most fish sauce and other add-ins are also salty. One caveat--the broth ends up with quite a bit of fat in it from the marrow in the bones. (This, even though I used grass-fed beef, which is generally leaner). In fact, when you eat the broth, a thin coating of fat stays on your lips. Great, if you are a poor peasant in Vietnam. Not so great for me, I thought. Simple solution-- make the recipe a day ahead, and chill the broth after straining. Then skim the hardened fat off the broth before reheating and proceeding with the recipe. This recipe is a great one for older children to make, if nothing else, as a reminder of how many people in this world cannot afford to waste any part of an animal, including the bones. Also a lesson in respect for any animal that died to feed you i.e. don't waste it! Also a good introduction to ethnic cuisine, and they can leave out the veges if they choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
So Good! My boyfriend will drive 2 hours for good pho. I made this for Valentines and he actually said it was the best he'd ever had. He's a chef so if he says its good, then its really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is pretty authentic. I've seen a few "Viet" recipes submitted here which use ingredients that don't belong but I don't fault them since they are probably not Viet. The only thing this is missing is a few spices which are commonly used in pho but it is all dependent on your taste. Typically cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, and probably a few others I can't remember now are also used. I've made pho for years and have yet to come up with my perfect spice ratio. It makes a big difference :) Another reviewer mentioned that their pot came out too oily. There a few ways to remove it. You can increase your knucklebone to marrow bone ratio (more knuckle). Or you can get a very fine mesh strainer sold at most Asian grocery stores and when you skim the scum out it is also fine enough to remove oil or just use a spoon to remove. Another method is to let the pot cool, then put it in the refrigerator for a few hours. The oils will harden and it can then be removed before you warm up the pot again. The last thing is that you can probably get away with simmering for 3-4 hours but of course longer is better and you'll have to add more spices/salt to make up for it. He simmers for a super long time which is why he used less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States