Authentic Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I have made this a couple times now, both successfully. I make a few slight tweaks. First, like other users, refrigerate the sauce after simmering and wait for the fat to solidify, then simply scoop it off. Secondly, to avoid babysitting the stove all day, I use a large crockpot - I start it on high then reduce to low once a boil is reached. Many restaurants simmer their pho for over 18 hours - I let this go on the crockpot for anywhere from 12-24 hours. I use double or even triple the star anise in the recipe and add about 1 tbsp of extra fish sauce (the end result has been fine to my taste, but consider cutting the salt a bit to offset the extra saltiness here). Lastly, I throw in a couple garlic cloves. The end result is very close to restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I agree, it was very greasy. Although the aroma was exactly like authentic pho I've had with Vietnamese neighbors, the taste was very bland. I even made it a second time, doubling the spices, but the grease was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve Mead
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
People had mentioned about this being too greasy/oily, I drained about 3/4 of the fat from the beef bones off before putting it in the stock pot. This turned out amazing. This recipe is better than some of the Pho I've had overseas. I added a few more fresh herbs than the recipe which consisted of culantro, a little rosemary and garlic chives. I also put 4 cloves of crushed garlic to the stock while it was simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Mead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Changed up the recipe a bit, I'm allergic to onion so I added 4 cloves fresh chopped garlic and a handful of basil to my stock. For my first Vietnamese dish, both my husband and I were presently surprised at how well it came out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rob
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Turned out great!!! I used Elk bones and a spice kit from the asian market. For those that thought it greasy. Pho is kind of supposed to be. The fats and gelatin that are rendered from the bones are vitamin rich and super good for you. I do tend to fill the pot back up with water in the last hour of cooking in order to serve more but all in all no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I need help with this recipe. I've followed it to the t, and it's just coming out too oily. I also thought it wasn't hot enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emprez hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Very good, if you use beef ribs and beef broth gives great beefy flavor. I used some beef base for a little extra flavor then poured through cheese cloth to get the fat and bones. Added two teaspoons of garlic and Chinese five spice. Very clear broth with lots of flavor. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This tasted very much like the pho i get from local restaurants. The biggest difference is the noodles. I assume restaurants use fresh noodles. I'm happy to know how this delicious soup is made, but from now on I'll leave all the hassle to the many vietnamese restaurants here in San Diego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
this recipe did not work out for me. I baked the soup bones and then simmered per the recipe. The bones were fresh but the smell and taste were not like I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious!! I must admit that it is missing some few authentic ingredients but it still tastes awesome either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States