Authentic Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
So Good! My boyfriend will drive 2 hours for good pho. I made this for Valentines and he actually said it was the best he'd ever had. He's a chef so if he says its good, then its really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is definitely, as the name implies, authentic tasting! I followed the recipe exactly, and it worked out well, with the exception that I would add less salt initially and let everyone taste and add as they desire, since most fish sauce and other add-ins are also salty. One caveat--the broth ends up with quite a bit of fat in it from the marrow in the bones. (This, even though I used grass-fed beef, which is generally leaner). In fact, when you eat the broth, a thin coating of fat stays on your lips. Great, if you are a poor peasant in Vietnam. Not so great for me, I thought. Simple solution-- make the recipe a day ahead, and chill the broth after straining. Then skim the hardened fat off the broth before reheating and proceeding with the recipe. This recipe is a great one for older children to make, if nothing else, as a reminder of how many people in this world cannot afford to waste any part of an animal, including the bones. Also a lesson in respect for any animal that died to feed you i.e. don't waste it! Also a good introduction to ethnic cuisine, and they can leave out the veges if they choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeBeK
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
For sake of simplicity and easiness...I don't have 6 hours to cook! I used a premix store bought pho spices. You can find it in an oriental grocery store. I boil pork rib bones or beef bones with the spices for 1 hour, then follow the rest of the recipe. I like it spicy, so I add fresh Thai chilli pepper and Ning Chi Chilli Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this tonight and it was a huge hit, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The flavors were excellent. I would recommend simmering the broth longer than six hours, as it did not reach the level of richness I wanted in that time period. I would also make sure the stock is very hot before finishing the bowls. I used large bowls and added additional veggies and the stock was not hot enough to bring everything up to temp. That said, I will make this again and correct my first time mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Proctor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm not a cook, but I actually did a pretty awesome job! My husband loves it. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arlenefool
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
If you have a large enough slow cooker you can set the broth going and have pho for supper after work. This recipe is great, it tastes just like the pho at my favorite restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I'm currently making this for the first time, and I will come back to update when I taste the end product. I simmered the bones for awhile and the broth ended up being too strong. I watered it down to taste, measured the broth to see how much there was, and it's right around 7 cups. So, for my own notes and as a point of reference for other people who try this, you'll want to add enough water to make 7 cups of broth after you strain the bones and such out of the broth. Adjust to your preference from there, boiling off water or adding water. I simmered the bone broth for about 7-8 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made it exactly as written and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This pho is so delicious and very easy to customize into a vegetarian recipe, believe it or not! Loved the flavor of the star anise in this soup, and the roasted onion is genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalyn Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States