Authentic Pepper Pot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I grew up in Philly with a mother who couldn't cook a hot dog. So Campbell's pepper pot was what I was served for Saturday lunch. Why I enjoyed canned soup is beyond me, but I loved the Pepper Pot with Tripe. Grew up, moved away, never ever could find a can anywhere. And I looked. Because it was my fave. Now it is over 55 years later and I find this recipe here! And the ingredients (can you believe they have tripe in Atlanta, Georgia?) Were all readily available. It to me more than 3 hours to cut, chop, grate, and taste test till I got it right. And right it was! This was the best food I've had in my mouth ever in my life. I doubled the recipe and my little old bad cook of a mom and I ate the entire pot in two sittings. I have to say, it was SUPERB. I followed the directions exactly and wow, wow WOW! Thank you for giving me more than a childhood memory could ever bring back. I would live to meet the chef! Thank you! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was just fantastic. The spices perfectly balance. I was really upset when Campbell's stopped making Pepper Pot but this is way better than anything I ever got out of one of their cans. Will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jathouston
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
What a great recipe. I made this for my Mom as she loved the campbell's soup recipe. So I thought I would try to make it for her bday!! Great idea, everyone said it tasted better than the canned!! It takes awhile to dice everything, but so worth it!! I added 1 can diced tomatoes and I did half beef broth and half chicken!! Yummy!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was a fantastic soup! So hearty and filling. I am definitely not a fan of tripe so I used what I had on hand which was ground beef. The only thing I didn't differently was to simple saute it in a pan rather than boiling the meat as the recipes says. This was a total hit with my hubby and my 3 kids. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ron Carmona
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My photo is no. 2 above, and it is the result of almost $30 worth of ingredients. I made it with tripe and it came out delicious. It was worth the effort. The soup is very savory from the bacon and beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Amazing! I used pork instead of tripe, and a healthy dose of pepper, and the result was so incredibly good! Definitely one of the better recipes on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Medway, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Humes Olson
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was the BEST Pepper Pot Soup I've EVER had! (Sorry mom)! The tripe was the MOST tender tripe I've ever eaten! (Is the boiling in the pot & then leaving it sit there in the pot the secret? I don't know), but, WOW! The only changes I made were, I didn't have any leeks, (so I did without), I used some red bell peppers also, (because I had them on hand). Also, I added a handful of ditalini pasta because the potato I had was on the small side, so I wanted to add a bit more heartiness! I have been raving over this to anyone I know who likes tripe or soup! Mom never wrote down the recipe, & I haven't had this in over 20 yrs! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Humes Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I did make it with tripe and went exactly as the recipe stated except for one addition. I added one cup of diced Chorizo and it made an already great soup even better!! I would definitely make it again. I added the Chorizo at the same time I added the tripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My grandmother used to make pepper pot soup and I loved it. I went searching for a recipe, found this one and made it exactly as it was. I even used tripe. Well, it was a lot of work and when it was done it wasn't very good at all. Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This soup is delicious. I used ham instead of tripe, and because I'm gluten and dairy intolerant, I left out out the margarine and flour, so it was very soupy and tasty. Thanks for the recipe Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States