Authentic Paella Valenciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This recipe is almost 100% right-on with the official recipe of Paella Valenciana promoted by the Artesanal Association of Valencia. You can't get more authentic than that. Great work. Try it people it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyndita
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent recipe. I lived in Spain, and am of Spanish decent (parents both born in Spain). I live in USA now and can't find rabbit. When I make paella valenciana I use more chicken, add some jamón serrano which really gives it a delicious taste. I know they don't do that in Spain, but we love the taste. Also add artichokes, butter beans, and green beans. This paella is my favorite of all, but I also love paella a banda. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This is truly authentic- If you can, use fresh peas and a good quality saffron, and this excellent recipe will be over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Às a Spaniard married with a "Valenciana" I can certify this is the authentic paella Valenciana. I love this dish but I prefer not to use the extras you mentioned in the recipe. For the one who reviewed this recipe and said shrimps and olives where missing, I'd like to say that shrimps aren't used in the paella valenciana, only in the "seafood paella" and I've never seen olives in a paella in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryLou
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My family is from Valencia and preparing the paella is a tradition to us. This paella is pretty close to the original recipe we have been using for years and years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is my recipe and I just wanted to add a couple things. 1. You don't really eat the whole head of garlic you just let it infuse its flavor into the broth, I don't even peel it. 2. Continally test the broth until it's perfect before adding the rice, as a trick; once it's perfect you can take a little out then add water and salt in the pan and cook till it's perfect again so you'll have perfect broth set aside to add to perfect broth in case you need a little more for the rice w/o having to water it down. 3. You can add some roasted red pepper slices on top for a nice presentation. 4. I forgot to mention the most important part, squeeze lemon juice on it before you eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Nelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I lived with a host family in Leon, Spain for six weeks. This is almost exactly like the one my host father and brother would make, only they took out any kind of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watersmeet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Used to live in barcelona and the ingredients and measurements ALONE, indicate this is one of the more dead on recipes available online, so I tried it. I've made this over and over and over again. BIG paella fan and this is as good as I remember in Barcelona and if you're from Southern California, rivals Cafe Sevilla's paella. I used smoked paprika and I think that's what made it too good to be true. Go to La Tienda's website to buy your smoked paprika and paella pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Great recipe, I used 4 chicken thighs + legs, and quarter pound of shrimp cause my pan was a little small. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
One review mentioned "basil and olives" ... omg - hell no! I just got back from a honeymoon in Barcelona. This recipe is dead on ... I cannot wait to make it over and over and over again! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States