Authentic Paella Valenciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The person listing this claimed it was the Valencia Pealla. So I asked two graduate students in my Constitutional Law class to dine with us. One was from Valencia and the other a small community about 60 miles inland. Two things they point out. First, paella in Spain is a bit like Gumbo here in the US. Lots of folks who drove through Louisianna claim to have the true recipe, but the truth is that gumbo is something will vary according to the cook and the parties eating it. Add or take out an ingredient to match your taste, and you still have gumbo or paella. Second, while they also say the pan is important, it is more an issue of building up flavors much like we do with cast iron cookware. Both my skillets and Dutch Oven set ups are "seasoned" from the cooking, and that gives each meal a special taste. It's not so much that you spent $30 to $50 on a claimed "original" paella pan, but that you have a dedicated paella pan so that you can build up flavors. They also pointed out that the hearty portion of the dish is the choices of the meat. Chicken and Rabbit are common "farm" meats that get added, while the seafood is almost always that day's catch. This means that fresh shrimp will cook better than frozen. Pretty much the same for gumbo. When possible, use fresh ingredients to assure yourself that the taste is all the item can offer. Oh yeah, I tried this dish and it was as good as many others on this site. And I don't use a Paella pan but instead a shallow stew pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
GREAT AND YUMMY RECIPE! if you like original paella in www.paellafromvalencia.com you have others original paella recipes and much more, enjoy it! www.originalpaella.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by don Paella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyndita
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent recipe. I lived in Spain, and am of Spanish decent (parents both born in Spain). I live in USA now and can't find rabbit. When I make paella valenciana I use more chicken, add some jamón serrano which really gives it a delicious taste. I know they don't do that in Spain, but we love the taste. Also add artichokes, butter beans, and green beans. This paella is my favorite of all, but I also love paella a banda. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This recipe is almost 100% right-on with the official recipe of Paella Valenciana promoted by the Artesanal Association of Valencia. You can't get more authentic than that. Great work. Try it people it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good recipe, but with one recommendation. Original recipes for paella don't use garlic. One can, it doesn't hurt. My rule of thumb is, if your actually using Spanish saffron or any other good grade (Turkish, Persian, but not Thai), don't use garlic. It overwhelms the taste of the saffron, and the stuff costs too much to do that. Never use a good saffron with garlic. I have a stash of what was a 10 gram box I bought in Grenada. If you are ever in Granada, go over to "la plaza de la catedral" when the spice vendors are there. There is no better or cheaper place to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I agree with omitting the peas & I prefer frozen haricot verts. I would also suggest visiting The Spanish Table for your paella pan (or many other needs). Awesome store! If you're ever in Santa Fe- worth a visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I make my paella without even peeling the garlic, and I also like to use green beans and red pepper. I also put slices of hard-boiled egg to decorate it when it's done. Also, instead of rabbit, I use Spanish chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJDuque

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I followed recipe exactly. The rice was outstanding but the meat was disappointingly bland. I don't care about the recipe's authenticity but if you want a good dish, leave out the chicken and use the whole rabbit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Not hard to cook, but takes planning, makes a LOT of food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Pretty close. In Spain, they would use Calasparra rice--or Bomba, for top drawer. "White rice" per se, doesn't work for me. I wouldn't attempt it without the good stuff from Murcia. And these short grains will probably affect the absorption, e.g., Bomba absorbs more than Calasparra. Not easy to find and not cheap. But not impossible, and what're you gonna do? No substitute, once you're addicted to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Stenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States