Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I am giving this 5 stars because the taste was great but when I make it again (and I will) I will make more sauce because we found them a little drier than we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Made this recipe after watching the video and it's the best version we've EVER made at home. We used thinly sliced pork instead of chicken and threw in some cilantro too. I'm already craving it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Just made this and it is wonderful! Will be making it again and again. I used the ketchup with some worchteshire(sp) instead of the tamarind because I could not find tamarind paste. I also used boneless pork chop for the meat instead of chicken because that's what I had on hand. This dish is a keeper. I also added a bag of stir fry veggies at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delicious. Didn't change the sauce proportions at all but did add half a chopped onion, some stir-fried tofu cubes and a splash of sweet chili sauce. We also used a pound of chicken thighs instead of breasts. My Thai-food loving teenager and husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyM
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was delicious. The only changes I made were to use tamarind concentrate instead of the paste (it was all they had at the Asian grocery store), and I forgot to add the paprika at the end. I would have liked it to be a bit saucier. I'm not sure if I cooked it a bit too long and the sauce got all soaked up or if I just need to make more sauce next time. Even still the flavors were wonderful so I am giving this 5 stars. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Okay I LOVE thai food and I was very skeptical about this dish especially with the word "authentic" but I must say this is beyond DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe exactly and this is a WINNER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Extremely delish! I doubled the tamarind mixture after reading other reviews and it was a good amount. You could probably just use 1.5X the fish sauce as it's a very strong flavor (2X the other ingredients in the mixture). I used a tamarind paste substitute because I couldn't find any in my town (blend of prunes, lemon juice and dried apricots and was VERY close to the real thing). I also added a tablespoon of worcestshire sauce to the final product while the noodles were cooking. I mixed some of the chives and a dash of cilantro in the mixture in addition to using them as garnishes. I used 5 eggs instead of 4 but only because we love eggs. The dish was great and I will be making it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made this recipe tonight after watching the video. It was great. Tasted just like take out from my favorite Thai Restauant. Don't worry if their seems to be too much sauce when you first add everything into the pan - the noodles will absorb much of the liquid after a few minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I used brown sugar for the sauce and white sugar at the end with the salt. The noodles soaked at room temp for 45 minutes but I wish I would have let them sit another 10 minutes. I used shrimp instead of chicken and cilantro instead of green onion because that is what I had on hand. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States