Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Okay I LOVE thai food and I was very skeptical about this dish especially with the word "authentic" but I must say this is beyond DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe exactly and this is a WINNER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyM
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was delicious. The only changes I made were to use tamarind concentrate instead of the paste (it was all they had at the Asian grocery store), and I forgot to add the paprika at the end. I would have liked it to be a bit saucier. I'm not sure if I cooked it a bit too long and the sauce got all soaked up or if I just need to make more sauce next time. Even still the flavors were wonderful so I am giving this 5 stars. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Made this recipe after watching the video and it's the best version we've EVER made at home. We used thinly sliced pork instead of chicken and threw in some cilantro too. I'm already craving it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Finally, I've found a righteous version of my favorite Asian dish! Only things I did differently is: I marinated the chicken over night in coconut milk, the zest of 1 lime and about a teaspoon of red pepper flake. I also grilled the chicken and added the chicken to the rest of the ingredients in the wok just before the cooking was complete. Came out DELICIOUS, and the chicken had a more authentic texture as opposed to cooking the chicken in a skillet. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KtwnLgnd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I paid attention to those who thought it was too sweet and reduced the amount of sugar I used. Mistake. With the tamarind paste and vinegar, the amount of sugar in the recipe is appropriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Extremely delish! I doubled the tamarind mixture after reading other reviews and it was a good amount. You could probably just use 1.5X the fish sauce as it's a very strong flavor (2X the other ingredients in the mixture). I used a tamarind paste substitute because I couldn't find any in my town (blend of prunes, lemon juice and dried apricots and was VERY close to the real thing). I also added a tablespoon of worcestshire sauce to the final product while the noodles were cooking. I mixed some of the chives and a dash of cilantro in the mixture in addition to using them as garnishes. I used 5 eggs instead of 4 but only because we love eggs. The dish was great and I will be making it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
very tasty, easy to do, but not much plate appeal. definately will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delicious. Didn't change the sauce proportions at all but did add half a chopped onion, some stir-fried tofu cubes and a splash of sweet chili sauce. We also used a pound of chicken thighs instead of breasts. My Thai-food loving teenager and husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
good, but definitely not authentic. Wwwaaayyyy too much sugar, and real pad thai uses palm sugar not white sugar. It was OK, probably will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this recipe twice. The first time I made it turned out awful. The second time it was great. I believe there were two main issues with the first attempt I had. I couldn't find tamarind paste, only concentrate. When I searched online, I had found some posts saying you could use these interchangeably. I think this caused the sauce to be too thick. The second mistake was that I didn't soak the noodles long enough. The store I went to only had not flat rice noodles. I also soaked them in probably too cold of water. I tried to cook the noodles longer because they were so stiff, which combined with the thicker sauce just turned the noodles into a thick gummy mess. The second attempt I used just over a tablespoon of tamarind concentrate and also soaked the flat noodles for the full hour in room temperature water. Everything else I followed to the dot and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States