Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We subbed Hoisin since I couldn't find Tamarind. Everything else was followed to recipe. Came out very delicious and authentic except the noodles were lighter than expected instead of the medium brown at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The recipe omitted chile oil or flakes which most good pad Thai needs. I prefer less sugar and date sugar is preferable, failing that we have used honey and prefer its organic flavor to simple white sugar. Definitely need to double the sauce and halve the sugar. Overall a decent recipe, we like ours wokked with tofu and fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was fantastic. I used shrimp instead of chicken, as I was trying to use up some leftovers. I couldn't find tamarind paste, so I was planning on winging it then I found some thai curry paste in my pantry. Turned out it had tamarind as a main ingredient as well as a few others so I used that. Hubby loved it and had 3 servings, but said it could be a little spicier. I loved it the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Based on the previous reviews, I used only 1/2 pound of rice noodles and increased the amount of sauce. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Perhaps it was my brand of fish sauce, but the fish sauce flavor overpowered it all. Had to double the tamarind sauce to cover all the noodles, but I didn't double the amt of fish sauce that goes into it, and the fish sauce flavor was still overwhelming. Will make again, but will seriously scale back the amount of fish sauce. Not sure it's worth going through all the effort for, if you have a good thai place to order from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
The end result was very delicious, however the sauce smells terrible while you're cooking it! I followed others' advice and made a full amount of sauce for half the noodles, eggs, and chicken and still would have liked more sauce. The fish sauce is pretty strong - I will probably cut that down next time - but it turned out as good as my favorite local restaurant and my 5-year-old even liked it. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I was a little nervous while making the recipe because it did not seem like it would taste like the pad thai I loved at a local restaurant. Those fears were set aside once I tasted it because it was delicious. The only thing I would do differently next time is maybe add a little crushed red pepper or cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Good recipe! Enough liquid to cover noddles. The only change I made is adding minced ginger in the oil with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My husband and son thought this was fantastic! Substituted palm sugar which is traditionally used instead of using white granulated sugar. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is an OUTSTANDING pad thai recipe. Just as good as restaurants if not better! I made several changes 1) in step 5, I used the tamarind mixture only (no sugar or salt added) 2) I half-cooked the rice noodles by boiling it first instead of waiting 30-60 min 3) added an extra egg 4) did not stir in crushed peanuts-- when serving, the bean sprouts goes on the bottom, then the rice noodles with chicken an eggs, then I sprinkled crushed peanuts on top, 5) added a side of sliced cucumbers, goes perfectly with pad thai! 6)used tamarind concentrate not tamarind paste (although the concentrate did have a pasty consistency so not sure what the difference is)... one of the best recipes I've tried here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States