Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MAMAMIMI
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made this for the first time today. I went to 3 different stores, trying to find tamarind PASTE." I finally went to a local International Foods store and asked the counter person what this was, and she handed me a pack of "Wet Tamarind," which was not totally smooth (had some pulp of some sort), so I figured I'd just strain it after boiling it with the sugar and vinegar. Next time, I would probably double the tamarind mixture, as my noodles seems to soak it up and came out a wee bit chewy/dry. The plate appeal is very plain in and of itself, so if you're serving it to others, you might want add some of the garnishes suggested in the recipe. Nevertheless, it was tasty and it passed my kid's picky tastebuds (LOL), so we have a winner. I added photos... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAMIMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I need to work on my noodles though. They stuck together and were very rubbery. But this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I have done this recipe a few times and I love it. I always make and extra portion of sauce because I felt they were too dry. Also, I substituted the vegetable oil and garlic for stir fry oil and tried cashews or pine nuts instead of peanuts and pork tenderloin, skirt steak or steak instead of chicken, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great Recipe! I cheated and used Pad Thai sauce I purchased in Chinatown, but the technique makes a really great Pad Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this recipe twice. The first time I made it turned out awful. The second time it was great. I believe there were two main issues with the first attempt I had. I couldn't find tamarind paste, only concentrate. When I searched online, I had found some posts saying you could use these interchangeably. I think this caused the sauce to be too thick. The second mistake was that I didn't soak the noodles long enough. The store I went to only had not flat rice noodles. I also soaked them in probably too cold of water. I tried to cook the noodles longer because they were so stiff, which combined with the thicker sauce just turned the noodles into a thick gummy mess. The second attempt I used just over a tablespoon of tamarind concentrate and also soaked the flat noodles for the full hour in room temperature water. Everything else I followed to the dot and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The only changes I made were to double the sauce (as I do like it pretty saucy, and after reading other reviews I wanted to make sure there was plenty--especially because I had a 13oz package of noodles), add chili paste to the tamarind mixture and to mix the bean sprouts in with the pad thai instead of as a garnish. The result was a bit disappointing, mostly in the flavoring in the sauce. Perhaps this is because I'm used to getting pad thai at American restuarants, so even those this might be "authentic," it's not the flavor I'm used to. Maybe? It was just kind of meh, and I'm so glad I had sriracha on hand to spice it up, even after adding 1 tbls of chili paste to the tamarind mixture. It was definitely too sweet for my taste. I also think I made the mistake of soaking the noodles too long, as the whole thing was kind of gooey--but that's not reflected in my rating, just a tip to everyone else! I probably had them soaking for a good hour and 15 minutes. I'll likely make a variation of this recipe in the future, but next I'll scale back the amount of sugar and fish sauce, add lots more chili sauce, and double the chicken. Personal preference would have been to crack the eggs on top of the mixture while it was heating and cook it through that way, so I'll do that next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
My husband and I have had this from a mix, but this time I had almost all the ingredients and so I tried it. Because I can't use sugar, I used Splenda as a substitute. Also, I didn't have rice noodles, so I used spaghetti and cooked it 10 minutes before adding it to the wok. We absolutely LOVED it! I watched the video first and then made the dish. I will attempt more Thai food in the future, because my husband was just thrilled. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this and so did hubby. I had to improvise with the tamarind paste - could not find any - the closest was a tamarind-date sauce - that worked fine. The flavour of the pad thai was great, but it wouldn't hurt to have more sauce - I might try doubling it next time. I also omitted the second amount of sugar. And I found this dish tasted particularly good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
So I just finished making the recipe. What a disappointment!!!!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was dry and unflavorable. Don't think I did anything wrong. I used every ingredient as it asked for. Now to feed it to the family.....yuck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States