Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I was a little nervous while making the recipe because it did not seem like it would taste like the pad thai I loved at a local restaurant. Those fears were set aside once I tasted it because it was delicious. The only thing I would do differently next time is maybe add a little crushed red pepper or cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Good recipe! Enough liquid to cover noddles. The only change I made is adding minced ginger in the oil with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My husband and son thought this was fantastic! Substituted palm sugar which is traditionally used instead of using white granulated sugar. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is an OUTSTANDING pad thai recipe. Just as good as restaurants if not better! I made several changes 1) in step 5, I used the tamarind mixture only (no sugar or salt added) 2) I half-cooked the rice noodles by boiling it first instead of waiting 30-60 min 3) added an extra egg 4) did not stir in crushed peanuts-- when serving, the bean sprouts goes on the bottom, then the rice noodles with chicken an eggs, then I sprinkled crushed peanuts on top, 5) added a side of sliced cucumbers, goes perfectly with pad thai! 6)used tamarind concentrate not tamarind paste (although the concentrate did have a pasty consistency so not sure what the difference is)... one of the best recipes I've tried here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Huge
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was really good just following the recipe, although not as good as decent pad thai from a restaurant. I think if I simmered everything together for a little longer (e.g. more than 5 mins), it would have reduced the vinegar flavor which was pretty obvious. Also, my noodles were a bit al dente - so more evidence that I didn't simmer long enough. All in all, this was REALLY good, but the bar is set pretty high for me as there is a lot of good Thai here (Seattle) that this dish is competing with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Finally, I've found a righteous version of my favorite Asian dish! Only things I did differently is: I marinated the chicken over night in coconut milk, the zest of 1 lime and about a teaspoon of red pepper flake. I also grilled the chicken and added the chicken to the rest of the ingredients in the wok just before the cooking was complete. Came out DELICIOUS, and the chicken had a more authentic texture as opposed to cooking the chicken in a skillet. Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KtwnLgnd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Everyone loved it! My oldest said it was the best Pad Thai she ever had. I didn't have the tamarind paste but had bought the tamarind pods at a mexican food store a while back. So I just removed them from casing and cooked them in the vinegar sugar solution. We like a little stronger peanut taste so I always add a scoop of peanutbutter just before removing from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I used brown sugar for the sauce and white sugar at the end with the salt. The noodles soaked at room temp for 45 minutes but I wish I would have let them sit another 10 minutes. I used shrimp instead of chicken and cilantro instead of green onion because that is what I had on hand. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
very tasty, easy to do, but not much plate appeal. definately will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My first attempt at Pad Thai, I made it according to the recipe (scaled for 8 servings). I am very happy with the results as was my girlfriend who hasn't always had a very adventurous palate. I'm looking forward to making it again in the near future, but I would probably double the sauce, lessen the chicken quantity, and add another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States