Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
My husband and I have had this from a mix, but this time I had almost all the ingredients and so I tried it. Because I can't use sugar, I used Splenda as a substitute. Also, I didn't have rice noodles, so I used spaghetti and cooked it 10 minutes before adding it to the wok. We absolutely LOVED it! I watched the video first and then made the dish. I will attempt more Thai food in the future, because my husband was just thrilled. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this and so did hubby. I had to improvise with the tamarind paste - could not find any - the closest was a tamarind-date sauce - that worked fine. The flavour of the pad thai was great, but it wouldn't hurt to have more sauce - I might try doubling it next time. I also omitted the second amount of sugar. And I found this dish tasted particularly good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
So I just finished making the recipe. What a disappointment!!!!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was dry and unflavorable. Don't think I did anything wrong. I used every ingredient as it asked for. Now to feed it to the family.....yuck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was a great recipe. I couldn't find tamarind paste, so I just mixed equal parts lime juice and brown sugar, then measured from that mixture. I will say that I felt my end result needed a little less sugar and a little more citrus, but it may have been because of the absence of tamarind paste. Also, I added cayenne pepper and red chili flakes, for a little extra punch. And I used white rice vinegar. It made my pad thai a little darker, but def added depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This had way too much vinegar. Then you had to sugar coat it down to cover over the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This turned out so well!! I will definitely be making it again! I substituted 1/4 cup chicken broth as I didn't have any fish sauce. Added carrots, celery, broccoli, and red pepper to make it more of a stir fry (and I didn't have sprouts). And added 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce and 1 tbsp of soy sauce instead of the tamarind paste because i didn't have that either. All in all, probably not the most authentic for me but loved it all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great flavor! So glad to have a good recipe to make this at home. Did not add the extra sugar called for in step 5 and it turned out yummy. Even picky kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We subbed Hoisin since I couldn't find Tamarind. Everything else was followed to recipe. Came out very delicious and authentic except the noodles were lighter than expected instead of the medium brown at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The recipe omitted chile oil or flakes which most good pad Thai needs. I prefer less sugar and date sugar is preferable, failing that we have used honey and prefer its organic flavor to simple white sugar. Definitely need to double the sauce and halve the sugar. Overall a decent recipe, we like ours wokked with tofu and fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States