Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this recipe twice. The first time I made it turned out awful. The second time it was great. I believe there were two main issues with the first attempt I had. I couldn't find tamarind paste, only concentrate. When I searched online, I had found some posts saying you could use these interchangeably. I think this caused the sauce to be too thick. The second mistake was that I didn't soak the noodles long enough. The store I went to only had not flat rice noodles. I also soaked them in probably too cold of water. I tried to cook the noodles longer because they were so stiff, which combined with the thicker sauce just turned the noodles into a thick gummy mess. The second attempt I used just over a tablespoon of tamarind concentrate and also soaked the flat noodles for the full hour in room temperature water. Everything else I followed to the dot and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The only changes I made were to double the sauce (as I do like it pretty saucy, and after reading other reviews I wanted to make sure there was plenty--especially because I had a 13oz package of noodles), add chili paste to the tamarind mixture and to mix the bean sprouts in with the pad thai instead of as a garnish. The result was a bit disappointing, mostly in the flavoring in the sauce. Perhaps this is because I'm used to getting pad thai at American restuarants, so even those this might be "authentic," it's not the flavor I'm used to. Maybe? It was just kind of meh, and I'm so glad I had sriracha on hand to spice it up, even after adding 1 tbls of chili paste to the tamarind mixture. It was definitely too sweet for my taste. I also think I made the mistake of soaking the noodles too long, as the whole thing was kind of gooey--but that's not reflected in my rating, just a tip to everyone else! I probably had them soaking for a good hour and 15 minutes. I'll likely make a variation of this recipe in the future, but next I'll scale back the amount of sugar and fish sauce, add lots more chili sauce, and double the chicken. Personal preference would have been to crack the eggs on top of the mixture while it was heating and cook it through that way, so I'll do that next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
My husband and I have had this from a mix, but this time I had almost all the ingredients and so I tried it. Because I can't use sugar, I used Splenda as a substitute. Also, I didn't have rice noodles, so I used spaghetti and cooked it 10 minutes before adding it to the wok. We absolutely LOVED it! I watched the video first and then made the dish. I will attempt more Thai food in the future, because my husband was just thrilled. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I really enjoyed this and so did hubby. I had to improvise with the tamarind paste - could not find any - the closest was a tamarind-date sauce - that worked fine. The flavour of the pad thai was great, but it wouldn't hurt to have more sauce - I might try doubling it next time. I also omitted the second amount of sugar. And I found this dish tasted particularly good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
So I just finished making the recipe. What a disappointment!!!!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY and it was dry and unflavorable. Don't think I did anything wrong. I used every ingredient as it asked for. Now to feed it to the family.....yuck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was a great recipe. I couldn't find tamarind paste, so I just mixed equal parts lime juice and brown sugar, then measured from that mixture. I will say that I felt my end result needed a little less sugar and a little more citrus, but it may have been because of the absence of tamarind paste. Also, I added cayenne pepper and red chili flakes, for a little extra punch. And I used white rice vinegar. It made my pad thai a little darker, but def added depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This had way too much vinegar. Then you had to sugar coat it down to cover over the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This turned out so well!! I will definitely be making it again! I substituted 1/4 cup chicken broth as I didn't have any fish sauce. Added carrots, celery, broccoli, and red pepper to make it more of a stir fry (and I didn't have sprouts). And added 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce and 1 tbsp of soy sauce instead of the tamarind paste because i didn't have that either. All in all, probably not the most authentic for me but loved it all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great flavor! So glad to have a good recipe to make this at home. Did not add the extra sugar called for in step 5 and it turned out yummy. Even picky kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States