Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I have NO idea what happened here. I had high hopes for this and as I always do I look at the comments on what to add what not to add blah blah.. So I figured! Ok x's the sauce. I like sauce. Yea the VINEGAR is WAY to much!! It's like eating salt and vinegar chips! YIKES.... So if you have ever eaten those things then you would know how my tongue is feeling and all I had was a sample =( Maybe make again but lessen the vinegar? This might be a I screwed up we're getting pizza night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Overall a very good recipe but will need some tweaking at the end. The tamarind was a bit strong for my tastes, definitely will need to reduce that and the final addition of the sugar and salt are probably not necessary in my opinion. But the foundation of the recipe is great and with a garnish of cilantro and lime, quite good. If I make it again, it will be with the above adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
My first attempt to make pad thai and it was so good! I used tamarind concentrate b/c i did not have paste and it still turned out great. I doubled the whole recipe to make a big tray of it for pot luck and it was a winner! No left over. I will definitely make this again! I used shrimp and pork instead of chicken and lots of bean sprouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this last night and honestly found it disappointing, especially after such high reviews. It was dry and bland. I would recommend 2-3x the sauce. I did 1 1/2x and it wasn't nearly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I've made it every week since we first tried it and everyone loves it. Don't make substitutions please! So many people seem to be subbing out various ingredients and they end up with something different but still rate it negatively! Tamarind paste/puree is available at asian foodstores or international markets and you only need buy one jar to make this recipe dozens of times so it's worth a detour to get. I soak the noodles longer than the time stated here (1 hour and 1/2) but perhaps they are a thicker style, Rice noodles really make the dish, it wouldn't be the same without them. I often order Pad Thai at Thai restaurants and I've never had one better than this (Some are as good - but never better!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMAMIMI
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I made this for the first time today. I went to 3 different stores, trying to find tamarind PASTE." I finally went to a local International Foods store and asked the counter person what this was, and she handed me a pack of "Wet Tamarind," which was not totally smooth (had some pulp of some sort), so I figured I'd just strain it after boiling it with the sugar and vinegar. Next time, I would probably double the tamarind mixture, as my noodles seems to soak it up and came out a wee bit chewy/dry. The plate appeal is very plain in and of itself, so if you're serving it to others, you might want add some of the garnishes suggested in the recipe. Nevertheless, it was tasty and it passed my kid's picky tastebuds (LOL), so we have a winner. I added photos... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAMIMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I need to work on my noodles though. They stuck together and were very rubbery. But this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I have done this recipe a few times and I love it. I always make and extra portion of sauce because I felt they were too dry. Also, I substituted the vegetable oil and garlic for stir fry oil and tried cashews or pine nuts instead of peanuts and pork tenderloin, skirt steak or steak instead of chicken, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great Recipe! I cheated and used Pad Thai sauce I purchased in Chinatown, but the technique makes a really great Pad Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this recipe twice. The first time I made it turned out awful. The second time it was great. I believe there were two main issues with the first attempt I had. I couldn't find tamarind paste, only concentrate. When I searched online, I had found some posts saying you could use these interchangeably. I think this caused the sauce to be too thick. The second mistake was that I didn't soak the noodles long enough. The store I went to only had not flat rice noodles. I also soaked them in probably too cold of water. I tried to cook the noodles longer because they were so stiff, which combined with the thicker sauce just turned the noodles into a thick gummy mess. The second attempt I used just over a tablespoon of tamarind concentrate and also soaked the flat noodles for the full hour in room temperature water. Everything else I followed to the dot and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States