Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made it exactly as instructed and it was amazing!! Everyone loved it and the kids gobbled it up. don't change a thing - it is very authentic. Don't swap the tamarind for ketchup or you'll ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This recipe was so disappointing. My husband and I love Pad Thai (and are both good cooks), so we were really excited to try this out. We followed the recipe perfectly and in the end, vinegar was the dominant taste. This is NOT how Pad Thai should taste! We looked into this and found that authentic Pad Thai doesn't have a trace of vinegar in it. Do yourself a favor and leave out the vinegar, or better yet, find a different recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Sooooooo much vinegar! All through dinner I could feel it in my nose and each bite hit the back of my throat. Other than that, not much flavor, noodles were really stuck together. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
The flavor was okay, but the texture/end result was not a success... Followed the recipe to a T, and it turned out a dark, gummy mess. I soaked and cooked the noodles enough, so maybe it was just a bad batch of noodles? I also used tamarind concentrate, not paste, so had hoped for a better presentation. If I made this again (which I probably won't), I'd double the tamarind mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycake1210

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
As written, I would give this 2 to 3 stars. The noodles are dry, dry, dry with the amount of sauce, so I would use half the amount of noodles. Also, all the sauce was absorbed by the noodles, so there was no sauciness to it. I like the flavor, but the recipe needs a lot of work to be what I consider good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a winner! Had a little trouble finding Tamarind Paste so I used some sweet and spicy Tamarind Chutney I found in the Indian food section at Safeway. The only change I made was adding water chestnuts (cuz they're delicious!) but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I will be making this one again. Even my kids ate it! That's a feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This is wonderful! The flavor, everything. The only thing I will change next time is that the sauce needs to be at least doubled. And add some red chile paste to it for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I have searched and searched for a Pad Thai recipe and for some reason mine always comes out wrong. I think my problem lies with the tamarind paste. It's as black and thick as tar and I followed this recipe to the T and my dish came out black. It tasted rather tart as well. Any suggestions? Am I using the wrong tamarind medium? My local Thai restaurant guards their recipes tighter than Fort Knox so their no help. I'm an advanced cook but I'm struggling with this dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was really good. I had two servings and took a few more bites as I was putting the leftovers away. My kids and husband really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States