Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskanDelicacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made as is and found the fish sauce was overpowering. May need to make again with a different type of fish sauce (lighter color version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great flavor. Noodles didn't quite soften up enough. A little too sweet. May have reduced sauce too much, but seemed a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! After eating the very same dish in Thailand this is as close as it gets. We add hot chili sauce at the end to taste for those that like a little extra kick. Also found that if you don't have tamarind paste that you can use lime juice instead. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I made this exactly according to the recipe on 5/8/2014. It came out wonderful. People were fighting to take leftovers home. I am made mine with shrimp instead of chicken. Definitely I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Rucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
LOVED this dish and my guests did, too! Only wish I had been able to find tamarind at my grocery store. I substituted 1 Tbsp brown sugar and 1 Tbsp lime juice for it, and it was delicious, but I'm sure it would have been even better with the real thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is perfect! The flavor full and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I didn't realize that authentic pad thai is actually quite boring without all the fixin's we add in. The flavor of the sauce is spot on, but I had to make a trip to the Asian store in town to find tamarind. My though to make it more of a complete meal rather than just noodles, peanuts, eggs and chicken, is to stirfry some veggies (I used pea shoots from the Asian store, but bok choy, spinach or something that really cooks down works) and other meats (shrimp or pork) ahead of time and add them to your dish. Will make again (hey I have a bunch of tamarind paste to use up!) with more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I followed two recipes, partly this one partly another. Let that guide what you think of my review. I did not add any vinegar, because the tamarind imparts a very acidic flavor on its own. It has a "lactic"-y flavor like sun dried tomatoes. Other recipes will not include vinegar, and if you watch the video for this recipe, the guy actually doesn't mention vinegar. They show vinegar being used, but the guy only mentions the other 3 ingredients. Maybe if you are starting off with very fresh tamarind you would need it, but the tamarind paste I have was already quite sour in flavor. Many people making this will want an excess of sauce to drizzle over at the end. The sauce is thin compared to the sauce at restaurants. If you want something thicker, brown some onions and puree it into the sauce. The cellulose will give it some of the body that a cream woiuld, but without changing the flavor. Also, I used palm sugar, and most recipes that allow for a substitute will recommend brown sugar. (double these ingredients for the recipe on this page) 1 tbsp. tamarind paste, to taste (available at Asian/Indian food stores) 1/4 cup chicken stock (campbells) 3 Tbsp. fish sauce (i used Thai Kitchen) 1 Tbsp. soy sauce (i used kikkoman) 1/2 to 1 tsp. chili sauce, OR 1/3 to 3/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, to taste (i used red curry paste, Thai Kitchen brand) 1/8 tsp. ground white pepper 3-4 Tbsp. palm sugar OR brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States