Authentic Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I didn't anticipate the amount of grease and cleanup. Other than that this is s great recipe. Not sure I'll make it often due up cleanup. And the smell of the tamarind and vinegar-whoa boy. I might leave this to the pros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
It was too vinegary, and it didn't taste like the typical Pad Thai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
DELICIOUS!!! I live in the country very far away from any Thai restaurants. I can order all of the ingredients online that I can't get locally and have Thai food whenever I want to. I make this very often. I also usually add a bag of frozen peas in at the end to make it a whole meal. Thank you very much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This was really good! I could not for the life of me find tamarind paste though, so I used red curry paste instead and it worked out really well. I will definitely be making this again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe did not turn out well for me. I read the reviews and doubled the sauce, but it tasted incredibly salty, sweet, and vinegar. With so many good reviews, I feel like I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe exactly except for doubling the sauce from reading review recommendations. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I think I messed it up...I had a 16 oz package of rice noodles so I decided to double the sauce. This put in way too much vinegar. Next time I will still probably double, just cut the vinegar. Also I think it can use a tbsp of peanut butter & hot chili pepper. I also put in a package of stir fry fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made it exactly as instructed and it was amazing!! Everyone loved it and the kids gobbled it up. don't change a thing - it is very authentic. Don't swap the tamarind for ketchup or you'll ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This recipe was so disappointing. My husband and I love Pad Thai (and are both good cooks), so we were really excited to try this out. We followed the recipe perfectly and in the end, vinegar was the dominant taste. This is NOT how Pad Thai should taste! We looked into this and found that authentic Pad Thai doesn't have a trace of vinegar in it. Do yourself a favor and leave out the vinegar, or better yet, find a different recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Sooooooo much vinegar! All through dinner I could feel it in my nose and each bite hit the back of my throat. Other than that, not much flavor, noodles were really stuck together. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
The flavor was okay, but the texture/end result was not a success... Followed the recipe to a T, and it turned out a dark, gummy mess. I soaked and cooked the noodles enough, so maybe it was just a bad batch of noodles? I also used tamarind concentrate, not paste, so had hoped for a better presentation. If I made this again (which I probably won't), I'd double the tamarind mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycake1210

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States