Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I really like this recipe and changed only a few things due to what I had available and some of the recommendations from other reviewer. I used 8 cups and liquid (3 cups chicked stock left from another slow cooker dish and 5 water). I used Conecuh sausage as I live in Alabama and that's the norm here ;). I used dried herbs and minced garlic and of course a lage amount of Tony Cachere's Seasoning. No jalapeno or ham hock but the sausage more than made up for that. I found that after 8 hours the mixture had not thickened well enough and I placed in a pot on the stove for 10 mins and it was perfect! I really wish I would have made 2 lbs of beans because these were gone so quickly! ENJOY! Tip for rice: Add a large amount of water to the pot with a few splashes of vinegar. Wait until this mixture comes to a rolling boil THEN add your rice. Mix to make sure there is no sticking but the rolling boil combats that. Cover and your rice will be done in less than 15 minutes and will be perfect! My grandma taught me this and it is a perfect no measure, no mess, no screwup method for a newbie like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiemelt35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It was bland, tasteless, was sort of grey in color, pasty and had the consistency of gruel when done. There was no flavor at all and the rice turned to mush. I was so disappointed! Scratch this one off the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow this is an amazingly delicious recipe! I did not have any sausage, so I used one lb of ground beef. Also, I used a hambone with lots of ham left on it in place of the hamhocks. Another reviewer said to mash up some of the beans to add to the creaminess and I am glad I did that. Next time I will reduce the water to eight cups as mine was a bit watery. I added two tablespoons of New Orleans Seasoning and one tablespoon of chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugardiva1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I would say this was certainly a healthy dish, but bland. A little too much water too. The good thing is you can adjust this recipe to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I do not know what I did wrong....I have never used dry beans in anything so, when it said soak overnight I assumed it meant for about 8 hours...did it mean 24 hours?!? I soaked for almost ten hours and then followed the directions exactly...21 HOURS later with the slow cooker set on low, my beans were still pretty hard. I cranked it up to high and left it for 2 more hours, then the beans were edible and actually not bad. However, after all that time, the meat - well lets just say the meat was interesting. We just picked the meat out and ate the beans with rice. Way too much time for something that should be easy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Should have read the reviews. Made as written except for doubling the creole seasoning. Needs way less water and much more in the way of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is very very tasty. Also, I wish I could give a separate review for the suggestion to steam the rice. I have tried many ways to cook brown rice and I was thrilled with the results from this method!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
this was really good!! I cooked mine too long and had to add more water, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Tried this last week and it was super. Since my slow cooker isn't big enough to hold everything, I cooked it on the stove in a large kettle on low for about 8 hours. I did find it a bit salty so will reduce the Cajun seasoning a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States