Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I do not know what I did wrong....I have never used dry beans in anything so, when it said soak overnight I assumed it meant for about 8 hours...did it mean 24 hours?!? I soaked for almost ten hours and then followed the directions exactly...21 HOURS later with the slow cooker set on low, my beans were still pretty hard. I cranked it up to high and left it for 2 more hours, then the beans were edible and actually not bad. However, after all that time, the meat - well lets just say the meat was interesting. We just picked the meat out and ate the beans with rice. Way too much time for something that should be easy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Should have read the reviews. Made as written except for doubling the creole seasoning. Needs way less water and much more in the way of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is very very tasty. Also, I wish I could give a separate review for the suggestion to steam the rice. I have tried many ways to cook brown rice and I was thrilled with the results from this method!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
this was really good!! I cooked mine too long and had to add more water, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Tried this last week and it was super. Since my slow cooker isn't big enough to hold everything, I cooked it on the stove in a large kettle on low for about 8 hours. I did find it a bit salty so will reduce the Cajun seasoning a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
First time making this, And we loved it! Was a bit spicy for my 5 year old so he got a pb&j, not that he minded. It was even great as leftovers. Thanks for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was the most flavorful red bean and rice recipe I've ever made and it was simple, simple, simple. It will become a winter staple in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Great recipe. Could not find andouille sausage so used smoked beef&pork sausage.It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Recipe is fantastic. The only adjustment I made was to use chicken broth instead of water and decreased it to six cups instead of 10. I like my red beans a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My Crock pot must be smaller than most because i could only use 4 cups of water, after adding the ingredients. I didn't really change anything except the andouille sausage. I remember the last time i ate this sausage it was like eating a lit match!!!(just a little too hot for me) so i used smoked sausage and kielbasa. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States