Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
It was good, but 10 cups of water was waaaaay too much. It was like eating bean soup instead of red beans and rice. The next time I make it I will use half the amount of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was a great idea, and I don't know what I did wrong, but I followed the recipe, and I did not care for it! Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I was looking for a recreation of the wonderful red beans and rice we had in New Orleans. This nailed it! I added a couple stalks of celery to the veggies and reduced the water to 7 cups, but the rest as written. It still was a bit more liquid than I'd like. Next time I'll reduce it another cup or two, or take off some of the extra at the end to use to cook the rice with. Make sure you get some good french bread to dip and sop up the sauce with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Prepared as described this meal was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
this was very savory but i prepared it differently after reading many other recipes. after placing the soaked beans and 2 small hamhocks in the pot i added enough water to cover the beans plus 1 inch. i also added a cube of mexican chicken bouillion, i tsp liquid smoke and 1/4 cup miced garlic. i added everything to the pot but the andouille sausage and cooked on low for 6hrs. i removed the ham hocks, mashed 1/3 of the beans with a potato masher,then added back the hock meat and sliced andouille to cook for 2 hours so it wouldn't get all shriveled up. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Made this several times, and everyone really likes it. I do add more spices though, it was a little bland by cajan standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Followed this recipe to the "T"... It was so so AWESOME. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong, but this recipe didn't turn out like I expected. I followed all the directions and it just wasn't great. I'm from Louisiana and had high hopes after all the high ratings. This wasn't bad, just not "Authentic Louisiana."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann Roetto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Have made this a few times now and getting ready to make it again! I always make it a little different depending on what spices, peppers and sausage I have on hand and it always turns out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Carney Gaddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Yum! I used dried black beans instead of red, 1/2 stock & 1/2 water and doubled the spices & this still turned out awesome! Thanks for an easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States