Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great flavor but the recipe needs some tweaking. Otherwise, I would have given it 5 stars. So simple to put together. Ten cups of liquid is WAY too much, though. It was pretty soupy even after I mashed some of the beans. I had to add corn starch to thicken it up and then let it cook with the lid off for a couple hours longer than the recipe says to get it to the right consistency. Next time, I'd go with about 6 cups of liquid instead of 10. I used chicken stock instead of water which gave it a really nice flavor. I would definitely make this again, just with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I accidentally threw out the water that I soaked the beans in overnight so I added 2 cups before turning on the crockpot. Turned out great! The ham hock is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Mine were a little too watery, so I added a can of Blue Runner red beans, they made all the difference...the beans were creamy, and was not watery at all. Overall, the recipe was very easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Modified slightly. 4 cups of water, 1 cup chicken broth since I don't use ham hock. Also use dried basil. Still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsfan101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Left out the jalapenos, used a little less water, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Salut, cher....j'aime tu! I made this recipe for TrueBlood's season finale and it was on point! I listened to some of the Louisiana natives and used the Holy Trinity and Aidell's Andouille sausage. Also used broth instead of water and did a mix of Creole seasoning and Mrs. Dash....It was awesome! BTW, listen to the others and use only 6 cups of liquid instead of the full 10. Even lessening it to 8 was too much but it did give me extra cooking liquid to use for another dish. Will sooo be making this again as soon as I can :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAWineaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I like the ease of cooking in the crockpot but as is, bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is a very good recipe but too salty in my opinion! FOR THAT i HAVE TO GIVE IT 4 STARS....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suellen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Lodge, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States