Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I get the broth creamy I add a can of vegetarian refried beans instead of crushing whole beans from the recipe. Works like a charm also works well with chili which is where I first learned to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
The one thing my Grandmother taught me about thicker liquid in beans was to a small peeled potato into the beans. I guess the potato acts just like corn starch, because the potato is starchy and thickens up the juice in the beans. The jalepeneos, in my opinion, should be added in individual servings. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe. I used 7-8 cups of waterand transfered them to a pot and heat them on the stove to reduce the liquid. I substituted 2-3 stalks celery for the jalapeños.I added more spice, 1 teaspoon of Cajun seasoning wasn't enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I actually made this on the stove top since I got distracted and didn't get it in the crock pot in time. It was fabulous and the family devoured it quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Good stuff. One thing though, halve the recipe if you're going to do this in a 3-quart crock.If you can fit 10 cups of water + ingredients in that size crock, you are a magician! LOL Enjoy this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I am making it for the second tome today. Just about the best I have ever made the first time around. Too much water in the recipe so I cut it down to 8 cups this time. I put some green onions in the mix. I didn't use the creole seasoning mix but rather used individual seasonings of my choice so I wouldn't get the salt. Crock pot cooking works great for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was way more than 8 servings. I thought the water was overkill and the Celery was missing. If I make this again, I will not include the rice, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
FYI... Redbeans and rice has been a Monday dinner tradition since my great-grandmother (probably before even) why? Monday was wash day so while the women spent the day doing the laundry for the week the beans just cooked themselves! Very important to salt at the end Not the beginning. And for creamy beans smash beans on the side of the pot as others have mentioned. No need for cornstarch. Also when serving be careful to not put too much rice. We always had cornbread with our redbeans. Crumble some over the top! Yum! Sjb, Louisiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Outstanding, makes a lot four of us ate heartily for two days and we had a full meals worth left after that. Great flavor with just the right bite. Did cut the water a touch and added the bay leaves as someone suggested. Thanks for the recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Loved it. I did not have ham hock (forgot to buy it when I went to the store) so I used 3 cups chicken broth and 7 cups of water. Also added a red and yellow pepper for color and used dried basil a good palm full. I knew I could tweak it because I made it before following the directions. Either way is fantastic. Dragonfly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States