Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Very very good. The whole family truly enjoyed this dish. Yes, I will be making this dish again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dppatterson90@gmail.com
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious . I added chicken stock to replace some of the water and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe every step of the way except for the water, couldn't fit that much in the pot...WAY too much even then. Just not a good dish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Added about a tablespoon of creole seasoning and skipped the jalapeno. Added hot sauce at the end and mashed the beans some :) really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Substituted turkey sausage, 1 tsp dried basil for the by leaves) and chicken bouillon (1.5 tsp to replace the lost flavor of the ham hocks..) very delicious, second time cooking this recipe this is now one of our favorite. Was a great surprise coming home and finding this dish coming together in the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Heflin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Too spicy for my family. We eat pretty bland so don't go by my review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Normally I find recipes to be a bit bland, so I double up on the spices. This recipe in my opinion is the same. Making this once a month for Sunday's dinner, we add both smoke n beef sausages when I am unable to find a nice smoked ham hock. before adding any of the sausages I mash a few beans on the side of the cast iron to give it the extra creaminess. and if you have a rice maker I find for the firmest rice the ratio is 1 to 1. that is if your press for time that is. I too am from Da' South and I tell everyone you used what was available to you in the region, so if you want to add jalapenos to your beans n rice then do so. Its all about ones taste. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Okay, some of you might just be out of your minds, this was great! I made it with the jalapenos and that added just enough kick so that my younger sons could stand it. I also reduced the amount of water to 3 cups + 4 cups chicken broth. mmmmmhm it was good. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Awesome recipe! Loved some of the tweaks in the reviews, especially the one from Kay:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Helm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I like to use Camellia brand beans; they cook like no other and I have never had to smash them to create a creamy 'sauce'. I add just enough water to touch the top of the beans after everything is in pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States