Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
When I have about half hour left to cook I take the back of a spoon and smash some of the beans on the side of the pot. It helps make it a little thicker without adding anything else to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I made a few changes. My boyfriend is vegetarian so for the first part of the process I left out all meat products and cooked as directed otherwise. I love using my crock pot for these kinds of things so I sautéed the onion, garlic, and bell pepper as per the directions and added it to the crock pot with the celery and spices. I let that cook for 4 hours, mash some of the beans in the crock pot, and remove the boyfriends portion. I then add andouille sausage and cook another hour. It's delicious! I lived in New Orleans for 4 years while I went to college and this is the closest recipe I've been able to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilie Ospina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I've made this for guests several times and it's a huge hit. I just throw it into a slow cooker so I can forget about it! Even better the second, third day as the flavors combine. Try making it a day or two before, then reheating it in a slow cooker. Yum! 8 cups of water is kind of excessive if you're eating right away- 6 is more than enough. After a couple of days, it all gets absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Quite good! I made this tonight and loved it. I used a slightly different sausage because it was on sale and prepared my own red beans from dry beans first, but otherwise followed the recipe pretty closely and it turned out wonderfully. Unfortunately it's a bit too spicy for my hubby's tender tummy, but I'm freezing the rest in individual packages for lunches later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Excellent! The best bean recipe I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT1958

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
These were really good. Have an excellent flavor with a spicy kick. Good thick, texture although I did smash a few beans to thicken the sauce but my family enjoys the beans mostly intact, as well. We were able to make two meals out of this amount. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Photo by Juju
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I tweaked it to make a little healthier - I used turkey sausage and organic red beans :) It was amazing & very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Turned out perfect. I reduced the amount of water by 1 cup and go the thickness I desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Moratz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I liked seasoning mix -- extremely close to what I currently use -- but I put the hot sauce on the table. Three suggestions: 1)The beans need to be soaked overnight to be thoroughly hydrated and cleaned - drain and refill the water after soaking. 2)Add the ham hock and cook for about 3 hours before adding the veggies and prefried/drained sausage. 3)While sauteing the veggies add a couple of large spoons of beans and mash into the veggie mixture. This flavors and slightly thickens the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this a LOT! I didn't have a ham hock but I did have 7 cups of rich dark ham stock and a cup of coconut milk in the freezer. I used some andouille I brought back from Nola. I will make this again and again. Maybe tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States